Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

They were the perfect family. It was the perfect crime. 

The new gripping DCI Matilda Darke crime thriller about the dark secrets that lie within a perfect family. For fans of Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons. 

It’s the most disturbing crime scene DCI Matilda Darke has ever seen. 

The morning after a wedding reception at a beautiful suburban home in Sheffield, the bride’s entire family are stabbed to death—in a frenzied attack more violent than anything DCI Matilda Darke could have imagined. 

Forensics point to a burglar on the run across the country. But cracks are starting to appear in Matilda’s team, someone is playing games with the evidence—and the killer might be closer to home than they thought.... 

©2020 Michael Wood (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Gory, brutal, devastating, utterly addictive and yet so finely written. This deserves to be huge - and I think it will be. His best yet." (Louise Beech)

"Wood has created a fantastic lead character for his gritty South Yorkshire police procedurals. Matilda Darke is Sheffield’s answer to Northumberland’s Vera and Wood’s stories are up there with the best. Fast-paced, crisp writing and a thoroughly enjoyable read." (David Young)

What listeners say about The Murder House

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not well written

This could have been a good story but needed severe editing as so much dialogue was unnecessary and in my view, childish.
As for the detectives, especially Matilda, how on earth did they not see who would have done the dastardly deed before I did??? Not until the last few chapters did they cotton on and I was there within no more than a quarter of the novel. Have to admit that by chapter 34, I had had enough and skipped to the last 10 chapters, when at last the dim and dozy police had seen the light and were off to catch the culprits. Doubt I will seek another read from this author and will return forthwith!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Improvement

This was a much better story, which could have been improved by better grammar, however, it was a great improvement on the last two books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Graphic but Gripping

There is a lot going on in this story which is securely written but the narrator is key in taking this story to another level and driving the story forward. The main plot is quite shocking with graphic description but there are subplots going on which compete for attention, which are more subtle.

I am really quite involved with the police family surrounding Matilda Darke,but Sian's snack drawer has started to annoy me as is the saucy female banter.

I would suggest to new listeners that they listen to this series in order as the author references plots from previous stories which might act as spolers.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Incredible and not in a good way

Totally unbelievable story line. Characterisation and policing practices that belong in the 70’s. Utter tosh

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Skip this book

Poorly researched making the story totally unbelievable. There are too many inaccuracies to list but the description of police officers walking all over a murder house moving blood around on their shoe protectors and suits beggars belief. I skipped most of book to end and even that wasn’t worthwhile. I won’t read this author again.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Poor narration

I really like the characterisation in these books - but the plot holes are huge. It is clear whodunnit from the moment he enters the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not too bad

Stayed off well but sorry became a tad unrealistic .. plus narrator was very nasally & all women sounded the same.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

NOW ON A MISSION TO LISTEN TO THE WHOLE SERIES!

I have had some of the Michael Wood's books in my Kindle library for a while now but for some reason, never got round to reading them. When I saw 'The Murder House' in the £3 Audible sale, I snapped it up and decided to start it, despite it being part way into the series. I'm so glad I did. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, narration and pace and despite missing out on some of the background of the main characters, didn't feel like I was in the dark about anything, as relevant information was repeated.
I am now looking forward to listening to the rest of the series and I'm going into it with high expectations!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lots of twists and turn

Most enjoyable book to read, can’t wait to up to see end who done it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

I am really enjoying this series of books well written, rounded characters and lots of suspense

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bitten and Seven Are The Best Kitties In Heaven
  • Bitten and Seven Are The Best Kitties In Heaven
  • 30-07-21

Fantastic

Just read this book!
I cannot articulate how pleasant a surprise this was.
The title is a bit misleading. Let’s just say I didn’t have super high expectations because this was an author unknown to me and the title is a little bit elementary.
Well, I got blown AWAY by the quality of the writing, the complete character development, the pacing, and the fact that you feel a part of this story from right out of the gate.
Yes, there are a couple of gory segments but it’s not gratuitous or unnecessary.
There is a reason for every decision this author makes.
I spend every evening with a book from this genre, and it is so rare to find something special, original, and well written.
This is certainly not my last MW novel.
I will definitely be back for more.
Thank you for a great book and outstanding performance from the narrator.
Yes!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for olivia
  • olivia
  • 17-02-22

A page turner

I listened to this on my walks. It was so good, it kept me motivated to get out and walk so I could find out what happened next. This was the first one I read/listened to in the series. It was so good that I have downloaded the entire series to listen to on my walks. I will now go back and start with book 1 now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 23-07-21

Wow! This series getting more "audictive"

DCI Matilda Darke Series continues with a complexellent and violent multiple murder case. Grabbed me from the very beginning and never let go. Twists and turns throughout and kept my attention. As always, author Michael Wood and precise narrator Stephanie Beattie, a perfect match. Anxiously awaiting their next one. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Justine Chandler
  • Justine Chandler
  • 06-07-21

worth it

I have enjoyed all of the Matilda series and this one didn't disappoint. Intriguing storyline with twists and turns, kept me questing who was guilty. Also her individual team members characters were explored which engaged me.