Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Liverpool Girls

  • By: Pam Howes
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 9 hrs and 28 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (154 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Liverpool Girls cover art

The Liverpool Girls

By: Pam Howes
Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Lost Daughter of Liverpool cover art
Wartime with the Cornish Girls cover art
Violet's Children cover art
The Factory Girls of Lark Lane cover art
Fast Movin' Train cover art
The Midwives of Lark Lane cover art
The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga cover art
The District Nurses of Victory Walk cover art
Winter’s Daughter cover art
The Mersey Daughter cover art
Fortune's Daughter cover art
A Wartime Wife cover art
The Three Sisters of Victory Walk cover art
The Daughters of Ironbridge cover art
Lizzie's Secret cover art
Playing Around cover art

Summary

The Liverpool Girls is a heartbreaking and compelling story of family, loss and love from the best-selling author of The Lost Daughter of Liverpool and The Forgotten Family of Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Annie Groves, Anne Baker and Kitty Neale.

Sisters Carol and Jackie haven't had the easiest of childhoods, but as they grow up and begin their own lives, both hope for happier times ahead. Stylish Carol works in Lewis' department store while Jackie dreams of a career on the stage. But the sisters are heartbroken when they discover they have been dating the same man, and an unexpected pregnancy causes a rift between them.

As the sisters' troubles spiral, will their sisterly bond be destroyed forever?

©2017 Pam Howes (P)2017 W.F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Liverpool Girls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice easy listening family saga

I did enjoy the stories in this trilogy. The first two most of all and I wanted to know more about the end of book two but book three started years later. The author knows the area and eta very well or did excellent research. Warmed to the characters and really rooted for Dora. Some quite dark events which were unexpected. My main niggle is the number of times characters ‘chewed their lip’ - fifty plus? Sticks out like a sore thumb on audio version and I roll my eyes every blooming time now. Spoils it a bit I’m afraid.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The Liverpool girls by Pam Howes

I enjoyed the trilogy very much, you have to read the first 2 books to understand the story .will listen to her stories again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story,well told enjoyed this entire series

I liked the character development and storyline, and how it was told from others point of view

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

I listened to this book in one day.i have read Pam Howes previous books and was delighted to find this third book about this Liverpool family. A great listen,you won’t be disappointed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved this trilogy

Thought I’d give something different a try and I’m really glad I did.

Really got into the characters.




Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A worthy listen

Third in the series. Kept me intrigued all the way through. The ups and downs of their lives. I think Pam Howes and Georgia McGuire are a great team

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Liverpool Girl's Trilogy

It wasn't a bad listen, I found this trilogy while browsing the plus catalogue. The story itself was quite good but I got really peeved at the amount of times they chewed their lips lol way too much it definitely spoiled it, I wasn't happy with how the story ended either !! Is there going to be a 4th book ? Pam Howes left the story on a cliffhanger is she doing another if not then why leave the story like that ? what happened with Carol carrying Alex/Sunny's baby what happened to Jackie & Sunny?? I enjoyed all 3 book's but I wasn't happy that Pam left this title on an open ending leaving me wanting more, I loved being transported bk to the blitz & then the roaring 60's I would of loved it if Pam Howes had finished the story at the end of book 3 like authors do at the end of trilogies do or set's gutted really it would of been good to have a complete end b

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Family

What a lovely book. Each time a date came up I was recalling my own youth and it bought back loads of memories. What a wonderful family they were

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

All of it 🥰

Loved all the stories, couldn’t put down ❤️ couldn’t wait to get home to read xxx

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really emotional listen

The story didn't grab me initially until about chapter 4 and then I couldn't stop listening. It turned out to be a great story, evoking powerful emotions. The narrator did a great job too! Definitely recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!