Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

1941. The Blitz rages over London. 

And even in Cornwall, the war is being fought....

When Violet loses her sister in the Blitz, she must take her nieces to safety in Cornwall. On the coast, she meets carefree chorus girl Eva, who is also running from the dangers of London.

But Porthcurno hides a secret military base, and soon Violet and Eva realise there’s a battle to fight in Cornwall, too.

Together with local Hazel, who works on the base, they must come together to help the war effort. But will their friendship be enough to keep them safe?

The perfect uplifting wartime listen for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

©2021 Betty Walker (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A fascinating story, beautifully written, with interesting characters I really liked. A most enjoyable read!" (Kitty Neale, Sunday Times best-selling author of A Daughter’s Ruin)

"A warm-hearted story - at times I laughed and at others I held my breath...I loved the characters and I’m delighted it is the first in a series." (Pam Weaver, Sunday Times best-selling author of Goodnight Sweetheart)

"This is the first in a series, which is great news for fans of Betty Walker and the Cornish Girls!" (Historical Novel Society)

What listeners say about Wartime with the Cornish Girls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You can’t go wrong with this story.

This story was absolutely fantastic! I loved every single chapter. Also the the lovely characters. They were brought to life by the talented Laura Kidman. Now all I want is the next audiobook by this wonderful writer.
Well done Betty. You have such a talent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An eventful story during the Blitz

So much so, I listened to the book in one day and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series. Laura Kirman narrates it well and Betty Walker is a capable author.

1 person found this helpful