Listen free for 30 days

  • The King's Ranger Boxset: Books 1-3

  • By: AC Cobble
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 32 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £27.49

Buy Now for £27.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A ranger’s duty. The rotten heart of a king. Rebellion spilled from the blood of family.

Rew, the King’s Ranger, accepted a role on the far edge of the realm to avoid the morass of intrigue and betrayal that bleeds from the heart of the kingdom. His only desire is to shoulder the burden he’s taken, to protect the village of Eastwatch, and to monitor the wilderness beyond.

When three youths are arrested for petty theft in the village and beg for his help, Rew’s oldest friend insists he take responsibility for them. By ties stronger than steel, Rew is forced onto a path he knows leads to chaos and death. Through a resurgence of monsters summoned in ages prior, war between the royal line, and backstabbing treachery, the King’s Ranger will battle to grant the youths a life he never had a chance of.

But as they venture farther from the wilderness he calls home, Rew can feel the magical pull at the center of the kingdom, demanding he return to face his past and his family’s terrible legacy. Only he knows the secret of the king, and the risk it poses to the entire realm.

The King’s Ranger is a classic fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Michael J Sullivan, Brent Weeks, James Islington, and AC Cobble’s Benjamin Ashwood Series.

©2022 AC Cobble (P)2022 AC Cobble

What listeners say about The King's Ranger Boxset: Books 1-3

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steven
  • Steven
  • 12-08-22

Characters lack direction

Simon Vance is excellent as usual. The Main Character (MC), the ranger is the most patient man to the point of being unbelievable. The supporting characters constantly agonize to the point of tedium over the morals of killing the enemy. Reasonable, but come to a conclusion. How many family members and innocents need to die? A middle age military man following teenagers, really?

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for peter waugaman
  • peter waugaman
  • 08-09-22

Epic failure of a main character.

How can you tell such a good story, but have such an epic failure of a main character? I haven't even finished and I am really disappointed in Cobble. When a reader, who isn't that intelligent, can figure out what is about to happen, doesn't know any more than the main character, who, is supposedly very intelligent, versed in the ways of the world in which he lives, and has had a whole lot more time to think about, and mull over the facts than I, but doesn't see what is right in front of his face? That isn't a failure on the part of the character, that is a failure on the part of the author. Boo, boo I say. I'm sorry to be a troll , but damn, did you have to mail it in so hard?

3 people found this helpful