Listen free for 30 days

  • The King's Ranger Boxset: Books 1-3

  • By: AC Cobble
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 32 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The King's Ranger Boxset: Books 1-3 cover art

The King's Ranger Boxset: Books 1-3

By: AC Cobble
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Cartographer: Complete Series cover art
The Riven Wyrde Saga (Omnibus Edition) cover art
The Wolf of the North Trilogy cover art
The Traitor's Son cover art
Elemental Academy Boxset cover art
Conspiracy cover art
Benjamin Ashwood cover art
The Executioner's Song Box Set cover art
The 13th Paladin Boxed Set cover art
The Chain Breaker Box Set: Books 1-3 cover art
The Mercenary Code cover art
The Squire cover art
Court of Assassins cover art
The Song of the First Blade cover art
The Dragon Thief Box Set: Books 1 - 3 cover art
The First Blade of Ostia cover art

Summary

A ranger’s duty. The rotten heart of a king. Rebellion spilled from the blood of family.

Rew, the King’s Ranger, accepted a role on the far edge of the realm to avoid the morass of intrigue and betrayal that bleeds from the heart of the kingdom. His only desire is to shoulder the burden he’s taken, to protect the village of Eastwatch, and to monitor the wilderness beyond.

When three youths are arrested for petty theft in the village and beg for his help, Rew’s oldest friend insists he take responsibility for them. By ties stronger than steel, Rew is forced onto a path he knows leads to chaos and death. Through a resurgence of monsters summoned in ages prior, war between the royal line, and backstabbing treachery, the King’s Ranger will battle to grant the youths a life he never had a chance of.

But as they venture farther from the wilderness he calls home, Rew can feel the magical pull at the center of the kingdom, demanding he return to face his past and his family’s terrible legacy. Only he knows the secret of the king, and the risk it poses to the entire realm.

The King’s Ranger is a classic fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Michael J Sullivan, Brent Weeks, James Islington, and AC Cobble’s Benjamin Ashwood Series.

©2022 AC Cobble (P)2022 AC Cobble

What listeners say about The King's Ranger Boxset: Books 1-3

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Long but worth a listen

Lots of travelling intrigue and battles. In book 3 finally worked out what was going on. I stayed the course off 44 and so it must have been worth despite a few filler chapters. Well worth a listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not a trilogy

I probably would have given up on this earlier if I’d realised it wasn’t a trilogy but I thought I might as well get to the end. It’s ok but everyone has secrets that are easy to guess and I didn’t really engage with the characters. Amusingly there are scenes where bodies have their brains eaten and bone marrow sucked out but the author still uses the children’s word ‘bottom’ for an arse! It sounds like the Minions from the cartoons.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!