Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Harbour Master's Daughter

  • By: Tania Crosse
  • Narrated by: Emma Powell
  • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (89 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Harbour Master's Daughter cover art

The Harbour Master's Daughter

By: Tania Crosse
Narrated by: Emma Powell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Candle Factory Girl cover art
The Waterfront Lass cover art
A Class Apart cover art
The Wild One cover art
A Thimble for Christmas cover art
Jessica's Girl cover art
Don't Cry Alone cover art
The Sixpenny Orphan cover art
The Daughters of Ironbridge cover art
A Distant Horizon cover art
A Mother’s Betrayal cover art
Silver Wishes cover art
Winter's Orphan cover art
Believing in Tomorrow cover art
To Gain What's Lost cover art
The Flame and the Flower cover art

Summary

Devon, 1867

Free-spirited Rebecca Westbrook recognises her perfect match when she sees him. His name is Captain Adam Bradley.

She is the harbour master’s daughter.

He is smouldering and sophisticated - the most eligible captain ever to sail into the quay.

Anyone can see it’s meant to be. But Rebecca is anything but charmed. Her heart belongs to Tom Mason, a lowly cooper she’s known forever.

Her father doubts Tom's ability to provide securely for her. But Tom has a plan to prove him wrong. And until then, passionate Rebecca refuses to wait to be with him.

But fate has other plans.

Tragedy strikes, shattering the couple’s dreams of a life together. Vulnerable and alone, how will Rebecca survive without her soulmate?

With the threat of bringing shame on herself and her family nipping at her heels, Rebecca can see only one way out. Is she strong enough to take it?

Fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court, Freda Lightfoot and Catherine Cookson will adore this emotional coming-of-age story.

©2004 Tania Crosse (P)2022 W F Howes

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Harbour Master's Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb Performance

Thought I would try a new author, so glad I did. A wonderfully emotive story, performed beautifully by Emma Powell. I really enjoy historical novels set in England. particularly like learning about how things used to be in all walks of life. I instantly purchased another book by Tania Crosse and can't wait to start listening.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic listen

Couldn’t stop listening the storyline was gripping and well read too. Loved the strong woman lead.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

great love story. fans of historical romances will see how majority struggled even in a 9

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it.

This is the first time I've listened to this author. Loved the story. Excellent narrator. Thank you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Persevering

I like the narrator and the characters are well defined. I put it down after a few chapters and have gone back to it a month later to continue. I'm about a third of the way through the book now and still finding the main female character really difficult to like. I'm persevering because I'm sure something will change and the story is intriguing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A much visited location of recent years

Very accurately described & narrator’s voice took up accents and intonations brilliantly. Thoroughly enjoyed although was quite predictable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New author to me glad I was looking for something new. Looking forward to book number two now.

Wonderful story and the voice was fine to listen too here I go to book number 2️⃣

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting, twisting story

I liked learning about the history of the sea ships and the trades of that Era.
Combined with a handsome sea captain finally being loved by the girl of his dreams made it a wonderful book to listen to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely outstanding.

Captivating from the very beginning, could visualise each character clearly. The narrator exceptional in her ability bring this book to life. I have listened to many audible books and only really have a couple of narrators that I highly recommend now I believe I may have gained another. Very happy listener. Looking forward to the next in this saga.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E
  • 31-10-23

Lovely story!

I could imagine the village and characters well while listening. I enjoyed the storyline and the narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!