Listen free for 30 days

  • The Evening and the Morning

  • Kingsbridge, Book 0
  • By: Ken Follett
  • Narrated by: John Lee
  • Length: 24 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (2,109 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Evening and the Morning cover art

The Evening and the Morning

By: Ken Follett
Narrated by: John Lee
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Mr Midshipman Hornblower cover art
A Vision of Light cover art
Warwolfe cover art
Blessop's Wife cover art
Virgins cover art
The Dark Ages: 476-918 cover art
Sarum cover art
Knight's Acre cover art
When Christmas Comes cover art
Cathedral of Bones cover art
A Wayside Tavern cover art
Booty Hunter cover art
Nolyn cover art
Level Up cover art
The Alice Network cover art

Summary

From master storyteller Ken Follett, The Evening and the Morning is a historical epic that ends where The Pillars of the Earth begins.

A Time of Conflict
It is 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages. The king’s grip on the country is fragile and chaos reigns. A young boat builder dreams of a better future after a devastating Viking raid shatters the life he hoped for.

Lives Intertwined
A Norman noblewoman follows her husband to a new land only to find her life there shockingly different; and a capable monk at Shiring Abbey has a vision of transforming his humble home into a centre of learning admired throughout Europe.

The Dawn of a New Age
Now, with England at the dawn of the Middle Ages, these three people will each come into dangerous conflict with a ruthless bishop, who will do anything to increase his wealth and power, in an epic tale of ambition, rivalry, love and hate.

Thirty years ago we were introduced to Kingsbridge in The Pillars of the Earth, and now in this prequel, international bestseller Ken Follett will take us on a journey into a rich past, which will end where his masterpiece begins.

©2020 Ken Follett (P)2020 Penguin Random House LLC

What listeners say about The Evening and the Morning

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,618
  • 4 Stars
    366
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    25
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,469
  • 4 Stars
    280
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    34
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,401
  • 4 Stars
    340
  • 3 Stars
    90
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ed
  • 25-09-20

Tell me if you've heard this one before

As a stand alone novel, it's ok, maybe even good. As a part of a sensational series which I've read several times it's the worst of the four.
A young genius hero builder falls in love with an intelligent and practical noble woman. Their love is forbidden and they are kept apart for years. The noble woman makes bad choices and suffers horrendous treatment by the other nobles. There's an evil Bishop and a good prior locked in a battle between god and greed.
That's the plot of the first book Pillars of the earth. It's also the exact same plot of this book. Except without all the fascinating and engrossing characters.
If this were a film I'd call it a remake. It's the same book, with almost the same characters just done worse.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

71 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poor Effort

I bought the Pillars of the Earth 30 years ago and I was entranced. How could the story of the building of a cathedral be so exciting, interesting and moving? I recommended the book to all my friends and it soon became a firm favourite.

The sequel, World Without End, was a pale imitation of the first book. It stuck too closely to the original, and the wrap around mystery was disappointing .

The third book was a marked improvement, the action wasn't just set in Kingsbridge, the scale was bigger and the book was better for this. It actually laid the groundworks for the English Civil War and that was the direction that I'd hoped the author would go when I heard a new book was imminent.

This however is poor. Its a prequel of The Pillars of the Earth set in the reign of Ethelred the Unready one of the late Anglo-Saxon kings. The characters of headstrong proto feminist noble woman, handy builder learning as he goes along (with a foreign interlude) and the noble/corrupt priest are all here. The characters are thinly written and the situations they find themselves in are uninteresting. Whole storylines are lifted from Follett's own books. Storylines are set up and fizzle as though the author had got as bored as I had.

Ken Follett is a frustrating writer, some of his books are superb, some are fine page turnovers but some are thieves of your valuable reading/listening time. This book is one of his worst and easily the worst Kingsbridge book.

It's the last time I'll automatically download one of the authors books in the first week. I'll wait for more listener reviews.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

36 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narrator is one toned I can't listen any more

Really struggling listening to this. Only got to chapter 4. No charecter in the narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a book to read over and over

what a wonderful story. captivating from the start to the end. I could start again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book from Follet

Not entirely sure where the low ratings are coming from. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it takes unexpected twists and turns, keeping you wondering what will happen next.

I ended up binge listening to it and now I'm sad it's over...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant tale

This is so well written, however, I felt so stressed in parts because of the way people were treated, or how some behaved that I found it difficult to keep going! However......... I had to keep reading as I NEEDED to know the fate of the characters.

This is the sign of a brilliant author, I was living WITH the characters and was fully involved!

But..... So stressful! 😊

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Narrator is truly awful. I had to stop. I loved the other books but not this one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Enjoyed this so much more than the disappointing Column of Fire, the last of The Kingsbridge trilogy, it’s a worthy prequel and much more in the vein of Pillars of the Earth and Workd Without End.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book

It’s a while since I originally read (listened to ) this series, but I quickly found myself back in time.
As you would expect, a wonderfull story, with great characters... no one does evil villains like Ken Follett and John Lee does a brilliant job of bringing them to life.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Magnificence

Follet and Lee at their magnificent best a partnership born for storytelling, Ken writes a great tale John bring it to lfe with his silky skillful tones. Want to reread trilogy after listening to this prequel. A must read listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful