Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The first book in a brand new World War II saga series. Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves.

Dover, 1939.

At the heart of Dover's Market Square lies the Castle's Café. A bustling, homely place run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children. 

Since the scandalous birth of her beloved son 10 years before, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, Marianne has never revealed the name of Donny's father - not even to her own mother. 

But with World War II just around the corner, Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated. 

Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?

©2020 Ginny Bell (P)2020 Bonnier Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Dover Café at War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    516
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    492
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    450
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Beautifully narrated making it impossible not to want to miss the next chapter.Next book please !

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant tale of WW2 Dover

Not the usual sort of book I read but, living near Dover, I thought it might be a nice change. It was! I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. Beautifully narrated too. For someone who normally goes for mystery and suspense and all the violence and gore that goes with those categories, this really was a refreshing change. I looked to see what else Ginny Bell has written and was pleased to see that a follow-up will be along in 2021. Something to look forward to.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLANT!

Loved this book. I was a bit confused with all the six girls names and mother but got used to them. Also I got confused with some of the soldiers and other men's names. It is a great book with good research.
The narration is great too. Then I was pleased to find out it is a saga, and there's more.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I absolutely loved every minute of this book. So disappointed that it has no other in the series fingers crossed that another will be released very soon

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Dover Cafe at War

This was a beautiful story and the narrator had a lovely smooth, listening voice well worth a listen all characters seemed to come alive. I can highly recommend this book and I can't wait for the sequence.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Irene

What a great story I have really enjoyed it and would recommend to other audio listeners.
Thank you Ginny I will look forward to your next book in 2021.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great

it's a really good book for a night time listen, or for travel ie plane or train extremely grabbing

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An easy listen with good local history

The story was good, more so in the second half as the characters take time to get to know. Now I have, I will be listening to others in the series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dover Cafe

Couldn’t put it down great story very descriptive I felt I knew all the characters.
Great read. 🙏🕎

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Enjoyed this book and the great narration. Highly recommended.
Looking forward to the next book in the series.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S B
  • S B
  • 21-03-22

LANGUAGE

I'm only 9 minutes in and already there's cursing. BUT WHYYYYY??? It's completely unnecessarily. I'M DONE!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-03-22

Entertaining

Beginning to the end, this audio was so entertaining to listen to. Sad at times but many moments of laughter. Everyone should have a Nellie Castle in their life, sadly I don't.
The narrator made the story engaging. I look forward to the next book and hope it tells us how the lives of the rest of the characters are doing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brityvette
  • Brityvette
  • 08-12-21

Memories of my hometown

I loved this book! The narrator was outstanding. I am from Deal and went to high school in Dover so I could visualize so much. I have visited the tunnels under the castle and it’s a fascinating visit. The book just captured the atmosphere of that time in our history. Can’t wait to read number 2!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for marylu gray
  • marylu gray
  • 02-07-22

Unexpected pleasure

I found the whole book fascinating with the feisty family matron who says it just the way she sees it! She's feisty and hard nosed at times, but keeps her community together during the hardest of times! So many life lessons to learn here.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Antoinette M. Sasiela
  • Antoinette M. Sasiela
  • 09-06-22

Unfinished

Even though I love WWII stories I found the reader annoying so I never got past chapter five.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JDV
  • JDV
  • 05-06-22

Great War story

I really love reading World War Two stories. I loved the character development and I felt like I truly knew these folks. Also loved the reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pooh Bear
  • Pooh Bear
  • 27-05-22

Good book!

I have been reading a lot of war books and this is definitely one of the best
It has war, family, and love and community
highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for South Jersey Mama
  • South Jersey Mama
  • 26-05-22

Excellent Story!!

I really enjoyed this story. It is well written. The characters are relatable. I love the family saga aspect of it. The narrator did a spectacular job telling the story. I laughed out loud a lot, got angry and had tears. I was definitely invested in the story and couldn’t wait to see what happened. I love historical fiction and this was the first time I read this author. I look forward to the next book in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura Maness
  • Laura Maness
  • 16-05-22

Awesome book

Great story and a easy read/listen. Happy to live on the the next book in the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gillian r fisher
  • gillian r fisher
  • 11-03-22

Loved it!

Started out slow with lots of confusing characters, but got better and better as it went on!