Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £17.99

Buy Now for £17.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Blending fantasy and science fiction, N. E. Davenport’s fast-paced, action-packed debut kicks off a duology on loyalty and rebellion, in which a young Black woman must survive deadly trials in a racist and misogynistic society to become an elite warrior.

Perfect for fans of Red Rising and Aurora Rising.

It’s all about blood.

Blood spilled long ago between the Republic of Mareen and the armies of the Blood Emperor, ending all blood magic.

Now there is peace in the Republic—but there is also a strict class system, misogyny and racism. Her world is not perfect, but Ikenna survived in it. Until now.

With the murder of her grandfather, Ikenna spirals out of control. Though she is an initiate for the Republic’s deadly elite military force, Ikenna has a secret only her grandfather knew: she possesses the blood magic of the Republic’s enemies.

Ikenna throws herself into the gladiatorial war games at the heart of her martial world: trials that will lead her closer to his killers. Under the spotlight, she subjects herself to abuse from a society that does not value her, that cherishes lineage over talent—all while hiding gifts that, if revealed, would lead to execution or worse. Ikenna is willing to risk it all to find out who killed her grandfather....

So she can end them.

Magic, technology and rebellion meet in this stunning debut—part one of a duology that sees a young Black woman rise through misogyny and racism to become an elite warrior.

©2022 Nia Davenport (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"If you want to be on the edge of your seat, find another book, because this one hands you a blade, shoves you right into the action and demands you start running if you want to keep up. It is action, mystery and heartfelt character—all balanced perfectly on the tip of a knife." (Scott Reintgen, best-selling author of the Nyxia series)

"The Blood Trials is one of my top reads of the year—a riveting story with richly drawn characters caught in a tangle of political intrigue, systemic racism and nonstop peril. Don't miss this one!" (Melissa Marr, New York Times best-selling author)

"With a high-octane sci-fi setting, a twisty murder mystery, and a badass heroine, The Blood Trials is a damn good time." (Hannah Whitten, New York Times best-selling author of For the Wolf)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Blood Trials

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.