The Blood Gift Duology

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 4 ratings

The Blood Trials Summary

Blending fantasy and science fiction, N. E. Davenport’s fast-paced, action-packed debut kicks off a duology on loyalty and rebellion, in which a young Black woman must survive deadly trials in a racist and misogynistic society to become an elite warrior.

Perfect for fans of Red Rising and Aurora Rising.

It’s all about blood.

Blood spilled long ago between the Republic of Mareen and the armies of the Blood Emperor, ending all blood magic.

Now there is peace in the Republic—but there is also a strict class system, misogyny and racism. Her world is not perfect, but Ikenna survived in it. Until now.

With the murder of her grandfather, Ikenna spirals out of control. Though she is an initiate for the Republic’s deadly elite military force, Ikenna has a secret only her grandfather knew: she possesses the blood magic of the Republic’s enemies.

Ikenna throws herself into the gladiatorial war games at the heart of her martial world: trials that will lead her closer to his killers. Under the spotlight, she subjects herself to abuse from a society that does not value her, that cherishes lineage over talent—all while hiding gifts that, if revealed, would lead to execution or worse. Ikenna is willing to risk it all to find out who killed her grandfather....

So she can end them.

Magic, technology and rebellion meet in this stunning debut—part one of a duology that sees a young Black woman rise through misogyny and racism to become an elite warrior.

©2022 Nia Davenport (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.