Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Ruins of the Earth cover art

Ruins of the Earth

By: Christopher Hopper,J. N. Chaney
Narrated by: R.C. Bray
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Ruins of the Galaxy cover art
Sunkiller cover art
Wayward Galaxy cover art
Oblivion Awaits cover art
Backyard Starship cover art
Convergence cover art
Homeworld Lost cover art
Resonant Son cover art
Columbus Day cover art
Sentinel cover art
Fear the Sky cover art
Ascendant: Book 1 cover art
Little Women with Big Guns cover art
Nameless: A Renegade Star Story cover art
Hunter cover art
Solitude cover art

Summary

A secret buried in the Antarctic. A puzzle unsolved for thousands of years.

And a Brooklyn-born master gunnery sergeant who's royally pissed that he has to babysit the researchers sent to figure it all out. Patrick "Wic" Finnegan's last op as a Marine Raider before retirement sends him to the frozen Ellsworth Subglacial Highlands. The only reason he's here? He owes a favor to an old friend, but that doesn't mean he has to like it. 

When Wic finally sees what the team has uncovered, he can't believe his eyes, nor is he prepared for the violence to come. Soon, the portal opens and unleashes a storm of unbridled fury upon humanity. 

From the Antarctic tundra to the streets of Manhattan, Wic and his team will be pushed to their limits as they fight to hold back Earth's ultimate threat. The odds are against them. Governments are toppling. And the Earth is falling into ruin. 

Join best-selling authors Christopher Hopper and J.N. Chaney on what audiences call a "nonstop, break-neck thrill ride into metaspace". For fans of District 9, Expeditionary Force, and Galaxy's Edge, this is one military sci-fi thriller you won't be able to put down, and the official beginning to the hit series Ruins of the Galaxy.

©2020 Variant Publications (P)2021 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Ruins of the Earth

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    302
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    357
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    265
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

ooooohhhhh...copywrite claim inbound !!!!

SPOILER ALERT...A third of the way through and really enjoying the story even more so the writing...
But yet again writers have stolen the skippy'' narrative and turned him into a gun with a SMYTHE accent...
Anybody who has read EXPEDITIONARY FORCE series is going to pan this one !!!!
R.C.BRAY gives another masterful performance , he deserves his mansion yought and ferrari, he even adds an extra star to the overall but i just cant get skippy out of my head,,,
Unless theres a RUINS-EX FORFCE mash up later on in the series its just plain theft!!!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

30 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • R
  • 25-05-21

A copyright lawsuit surely?

While there is lots to like and some great characters... It is a blatant copy of another very successful book series. Not even a vague resemblance, exactly the same in many respects. How can this be allowed? Didn't even give the AI a different accent or character.
I am left in shock at the bare faced cheek.
To be honest.. I only got it for R C Bray, who I have a weird voice crush on.. But even so. He must have been uncomfortable reading it.
R C Bray.. If you read this, in the UK in 'Twat' is pronounced 'Twat' (like 'mat') , not 'Twot' ... Just saying. Otherwise, keep doing what you do x

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Expeditionary Force Rip-off

If you enjoyed expeditionary force this book will either annoy you or feel like a familiar safety blanket, made all the more strange by having the same narrator.

Skippy in the form of a gun, with the same voice, same snarky attitude, narrated by the same narrator. Complete with its own version of Bishop and a similar premise ....

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Same horse different jockey

If you read the other reviews you will notice that there is a common theme, that the AI is a lot like skippy the magnificent.

Although the story is a great way to lose yourself it certainly has many aspects that mirror the Expeditionary Force by Craig Alanson.

On several occasions I had to check to see if it was the same author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

What showed so much promise is totally spoiled by quirky AI. I got half way through this before I could no longer tolerate it. Great shame when two talented authors come up with such a stupid story line. My advice is to avoid this. A pity a great narrator like RC Bray has to waste his great skill on this nonsense.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Plagerising at it's best

I came to this book for RC and I stayed for the same reason. Craig Alanson should send the Mavericks to sort these writers out and if they need help, the SG creators can be invited along. Totally one dimensional character development. So stereotypical all across the board I had to fast forward often but of course felt disrespectful of Mr Bray. wow, this was so sad. I also listened to it after having just finished Andy Weir's latest, Hail Mary, which was an outstanding and unique story, so falling into this felt especially tragic.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That you Skippy?

If Skippy was a gun..still great tho despite what feels like a different take on a much loved story

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent mil sci-fi audiobook

As a fan of mil sci-fi I have high expectations and this book met them all, great story, excellent characters, good attention to detail and the right blend of humour and action without you thinking it is trying too hard. Whilst I know this is a prequel series you do not need any prior knowledge to get to grips with this story.

RC Bray knocks it out of the park again with his vocal talents, bringing Christoper Hopper/JN Chaney’s words to life, but I do not want to do them any injustice as this is an excellent book and would be great in whatever format written or spoken, and I for one cannot wait to listen to the next instalment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too much BeerCan

I loved Ruins of the Galaxy with its hiena - like Ancients, so probably my expectations were too high.
Unfortunately this production could not meet them.
I found the story way too similar to ExFor, and what bothers me most, is that You guys can do much, much better.
R. C. was brilliant, as always, but éven his "Sir Charles" sounded annoyingly too much like a certain BeerCan.

I'm a bit disappointed :(

3 stars max, sorry!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I enjoyed this story from start to finish, I look forward to the next instalment

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful