Listen free for 30 days

  • Fear the Sky

  • The Fear Saga, Book 1
  • By: Stephen Moss
  • Narrated by: R.C. Bray
  • Length: 20 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (5,534 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Fear the Sky cover art

Fear the Sky

By: Stephen Moss
Narrated by: R.C. Bray
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Martian cover art
Convergence cover art
Ruins of the Earth cover art
Wayward Galaxy cover art
Columbus Day cover art
Infinite cover art
REV cover art
Ruins of the Galaxy cover art
Hell Divers cover art
Arisen: Raiders Volumes 1-2 cover art
Pandemic cover art
Deathtrap cover art
Warship cover art
Solitude cover art
We Are Legion (We Are Bob) cover art
The Eden Plague cover art

Editor reviews

Fear the Sky is Book 1 in the hugely popular The Fear Saga series written by Stephen Moss and narrated in this unabridged epic fantasy audiobook by Audie award-winning nominee R. C. Bray. Listeners are engrossed as the battle for earth begins. A million-strong alien army burn through space towards Earth in their unimaginable war crafts. The nations of Earth join forces. All people must unite their weapons and manpower to fight as one in the largest war Earth has ever seen. There is nowhere to hide. Everyone must turn to face the advancing aliens and save the human race from destruction. Available now from Audible.

Summary

"Real science in Science Fiction. This is a must read for fans of SF."
—John S. Gertsch, Amazon Reviewer

Perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, and Orson Scott Card, Fear the Sky is a hard-hitting sci-fi thriller that will have you looking at the stars in a different way.

In eleven years time, a million members of an alien race will arrive at Earth. Years before they enter orbit, their approach will be announced by the flare of a thousand flames in the sky, their ships' huge engines burning hard to slow them from the vast speeds needed to cross interstellar space. These foreboding lights will shine in our night sky like new stars, getting ever brighter until they outshine even the sun, casting ominous shadows and banishing the night until they suddenly blink out. Their technology is vastly superior to ours, and they know they cannot possibly lose the coming conflict. But they, like us, have found no answer to the destructive force of the atom, and they have no intention of facing the onslaught of our primitive nuclear arsenal, or the devastation it would wreak on the planet they crave. So they have flung out an advanced party in front of them, hidden within one of the countless asteroids randomly roaming the void. They do not want us, they want our planet. Their Agents are arriving.

©2014 Stephen Moss (P)2015 Podium Publishing

More from the same

What listeners say about Fear the Sky

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,721
  • 4 Stars
    1,408
  • 3 Stars
    280
  • 2 Stars
    81
  • 1 Stars
    44
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,883
  • 4 Stars
    1,038
  • 3 Stars
    214
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    25
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,477
  • 4 Stars
    1,272
  • 3 Stars
    288
  • 2 Stars
    106
  • 1 Stars
    44

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Us vs them, at its best.

I'm a sucker for earth invasion sf and this was right up my street. Rooted in a real sense of plausibility and science knowledge, this story moves through the gears and keeps you hooked. Love how the invasion is discovered bit by bit and knowledge of it known by a very few. I know books 2 and 3 are out there to read but I'm hoping the Audio books will be out soon, cos the narration is perfect in its sense of suspense.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

46 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Entertaining

What did you like about this audiobook?

I throughly enjoyed this audiobook. Not being a big fan of Scif, I was hesitant on getting this book, but the whole idea of alien invasion grabbed my attention, and from the start I couldn't stop listening.

How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter?

I am now looking for other books about Alien invasion.

Does the author present information in a way that is interesting and insightful, and if so, how does he achieve this?

The book could have done with some heavy editing, but overall it didn't spoil or distract from a great story.

What did you find wrong about the narrator's performance?

The narrator was perfect. Having listened to him on The Martian, I knew what to expect from his voice, and he certainly didn't disappoint on this book.

Do you have any additional comments?

Highly recommend for everyone to give this book a try.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

39 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripped

fantastically enthralling can't wait for Fear the Survivors and Fear the Future hurry hurry hurry

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lost the plot

Great premise, lousy plot. There were just too many unbelievable coincidences that allowed the protagonists to be successful. Considering much of the action takes place within Government and Military environments, it was surprising how little research the author appeared to have done. The plot was littered with tiny mistakes and errors (e.g. pilots in the RAF are Flight Lieutenants, not Captains; the engineering officer on a RN Destroyer would be an officer, not a Warrant Officer), co-incidences (one of the protagonists partners just happens to be an ex-Mossad agent; the scientist who discovers the invasion gets made White House science advisor) and unbelievable luck (no-one who is told about the invasion ever really seems to doubt it; smuggling special warheads onto a B2). It seems that whatever coin the protagonists toss always comes us heads. Sure, we want them to win, but they need to work a bit harder really. Also, as with many of this genre, far, far, too many POV characters and not enough character development.

A quick word about the narration. The accents were pretty good, but the delivery was too rapid and gruff much of the time. Not so bad I stopped listening, but grating at times.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

I simply could not stop listening to this story. I've even had to resort to downloading the kindle version of the next book because I simply can't wait for the audiobook.

Top notch stuff!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping story & narration par excellance

I followed R C Bray from the Martian audiobook, and I wasn't dissapointed!

Great sci-fi from Stephen Moss, put into today's circumstances. Alien invasion done in a thought-out way, not like in hollywood movies which is a plus.

Cannot wait for other audiobooks from the series to be published!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining listen, with some great added detail

Great story, with fantastic detail, some characters seemed a bit 2d and some accents were a bit off, but overall very enjoyable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Solid, straightforward Sci Fi

I bought this on the strength of Iain M Banks comparisons, but those comparisons must be fairly loose. This is not a dense, lushly detailed and lovingly created piece of art, but instead feels more like a script for a TV series. Most of the writing is plain, utilitarian stuff and the author seems out of their depth when trying to do anything more advanced, even occasionally making me cringe, eg. "that little boy inside was now dead - as dead as his parents". However, despite this, some clunky dialogue, and several clichéd characters I still really enjoyed it! The story is nicely paced, the action sequences well described and plenty of genuine tension is built. I'd recommend it, especially as the narrator suits it well, and will get the next instalment for sure.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lively and enjoyable

Starting a nice story arch with a good but not overly intricate cast of characters.
Sometimes forgetting established realities but mainly following a well thought out and believable universe.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

I do not usually opt for Sci-fi, but thought I would give this book a go. And, Wow! What a surprise.

From start to finish the book kept you involved and seemed to urge you on. It was an extremely difficult book to put down.

The narrator really brought the characters to life and made this such a good listen.

The only question now is when will Audible let us download the rest of the trilogy?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful