Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Rogue Asset cover art

Rogue Asset

By: Andy McDermott
Narrated by: Simon Mattacks
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Ghost Target cover art
The Hunt for Atlantis cover art
Total Blackout cover art
Spider Shepherd: SAS cover art
Gone Forever cover art
Traitors cover art
Black 13 cover art
The Gray Man cover art
Triggers cover art
The Protector cover art
Gray Justice cover art
The Fix cover art
Bad Traffick cover art
A Short Time to Kill cover art
Unrest cover art
Shadow State cover art

Summary

Every operative knows the rules.

The mission comes first. You are a deniable asset. Betrayal is punished by death.

Alex Reeve was Operative 66. A former special-ops soldier and one of the UK's deadliest weapons, he was a member of the secretive SC9 - an elite security service with a remit to neutralise the country's most dangerous enemies.

Falsely accused of treason, Reeve was forced to hide in the shadows as the brutal assassins he once trained alongside sought to eliminate the 'rogue asset' at any cost. But tricked into revealing himself, Reeve is suddenly dragged into a lethal conspiracy involving the British state, shadowy Russian agents...and his own father.  

If there's one man who can survive...it is Operative 66.

From the internationally best-selling author of the Wilde and Chase series comes an explosive new thriller - the perfect pulse-racing listen for fans of Lee Child, Vince Flynn and Gregg Hurwitz.

©2021 Andy McDermott (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What listeners say about Rogue Asset

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Action packed is an understatement t

This reads like ( or sounds like - if you are listening to the audiobook) a Bourne movie on speed. If you like non-stop action of the ' disavowed black-ops-guy-evades-threats-from-multiple agencies- while-keeping -loved -one and self from-being-terminated-and at the same time exacting-revenge-on-brutal-father' variety....then this is definitely for you. The pace never let's up.
The overwhelming preponderance of action is the reason I have only awarded 4 stars. After a while it becomes unremarkable and requires much suspension of disbelief. That said I will definitely be reading the sequel as soon as it comes out!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story line and all action....

Great story line and all action.... When's the next installment? Can't wait for the release date.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Action from start to finish, make sure you listen to operative 66 first, couldn't stop listening, love the narrator

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fair

Not the best but not the worst I’ve listened to so far but it’s still ok

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good stuff

I really enjoyed it. Fast paced action. Good narration. Looking forward to the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stretches it too much

Great storyline about I guess all countries are run by shadow government agencies… makes sense .. downside of the book is …the author kind of filled pages I guess for the publisher by stretching the LOOOOONG car chase

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good listen

Action packed really enjoyed the second book , only criticism is that Alex one numerous occasions has the opportunity to end a threat but not doing so creates more action that can be a bit long winded and I found my a bit tired of some fight scenes

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!

This is the second book in this series which I have listened to and once again a great thrilling book.
Well narrated and fast moving, it was difficult to stop listening, “a real page turner”..
Next one please.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Became boring

This book started really well, but the last 10 chapters were taken up with one long car chase or foot chase. It became single focuses and boring really quickly - shame though

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great, if exaggerated story ending

I loved both these books, but the second one feels like it’s been written as an action film script for James Bond type character. I found myself saying ’no way!’ A bit too often

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!