Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Only the Dead

  • James Reece, Book 6
  • By: Jack Carr
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 15 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (199 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Only the Dead cover art

Only the Dead

By: Jack Carr
Narrated by: Ray Porter
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

First Blood cover art
Tier One cover art
Once an Eagle cover art
Gone Forever cover art
The Gray Man cover art
Sons of Valor cover art
The Teeth of the Tiger cover art
The Enemies of My Country cover art
Spider Shepherd: SAS cover art
The Last Protector cover art
Dark Intercept cover art
Collusion cover art
Red Metal cover art
The Contract Man cover art
The Sandbox cover art
Rogue Force cover art

Summary

**NOW AN AMAZON PRIME TV SERIES STARRING CHRIS PRATT**

'Take my word for it, James Reece is one rowdy motherf***er. Get ready!' CHRIS PRATT

JAMES REECE IS BACK

1978, Rhode Island:
A freshman senator is gunned down, sending shockwaves through Washington that are still reverberating over four decades later.

Now: In a world on the brink of war, facing rampant inflation, political division and shocking assassinations, a secret cabal of global elites are ready to assume control. And with the world’s most dangerous man locked in solitary confinement, the conspirators believe the final obstacle to complete domination has been eliminated. They’re wrong.

From the firms of Wall Street to the corridors of power in Washington, DC and Moscow, secrets from the past have an uncanny ability to rise to the surface, and with the odds stacked against him, James Reece is on a deadly mission generations in the making. But for a man on the warpath, odds are not important . . .

Intoxicating and timely, Only the Dead cements Jack Carr as 'a rare gut-punch writer, full of grit and insight' (Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestselling author). Fans of Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan, Lee Child's Jack Reacher or Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp will love the James Reece series!

©2023 Jack Carr, LLC (P)2023 Simon & Schuster, Inc

What listeners say about Only the Dead

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    151
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed listening to it

Only the dead puts Reece in a slightly different situation than the other books, and I liked it. Jack is beginning to form a complete history with the characters and this book has a definitively a part two.

Thank you!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terminally good book.

Great series with evolving protagonist and side characters. Trust no government anywhere. In all seriousness love this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow amazing story again

Again James Reece has us on the she of our seats from page one . God help us if even a small percentage of these events and plots could be fact and not fiction. I would not put it beyond’s the realms of possibility or probability. Can’t wait for next instalment - hurry up Mr Carr . Fabulous narration again from Ray Porter

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another gem from Jack Carr

Another epic in the James Reece series. Can’t wait for the next one.
As always, Ray Porter brings the story and characters to life.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book in the series imo

Delving into this audiobook was nothing short of magical. The author’s brilliant narrative was both astonishing and emotionally stirring, making each listening moment a thrilling encounter. The vivid emotional writing resonated through the spoken word, creating an engaging and immersive auditory experienc. I really connected with some of the caracters and Reecesr emotional journeys. The depth of the storytelling was truly remarkable, leaving me deeply impressed and thoroughly enjoyed. This audiobook was a pleasure to listen to, and it has left a lasting impression on me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic piece by Jack Carr

The level of detail in this book is amazing. So we'll put together. Thanks

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This series gets better and better.

Quite possibly the best series on Audible at the minute.
Frighteningly realistic with many topics playing out in real time in the world,
Supremely written with the perfect choice of narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant as always

Well paced, researched and basically just really well written and narrated. The attention to detail in every chapter makes it well worth a listen/read!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another Jack Carr belter

another great book from The Jack Carr James Reece series. Loved it. Worth the time and money.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story line

Very well written book with an obvious lot of research and knowledge has gone into. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!