Listen free for 30 days

  • Murder on the Pier

  • A completely gripping cozy mystery novel (A Flora Steele Mystery, Book 2)
  • By: Merryn Allingham
  • Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
  • Length: 7 hrs and 18 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (124 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Murder on the Pier cover art

Murder on the Pier

By: Merryn Allingham
Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Meet Flora Steele - bookshop owner, bicycle-rider, daydreamer, and amateur detective!

Sussex, 1955: When bookshop owner Flora Steele goes for a walk along the pier she isn’t expecting to spot a young woman’s body in the stormy waters below. And she’s shocked to discover the victim is someone she knows....

Convinced the death was not an accident, Flora persuades attractive local crime writer Jack Carrington to help her find out what really happened to poor Polly Dakers, a popular young woman with a complicated love life, who’d been at the heart of village life in Abbeymead.

Jack is reluctant to get involved in another murder case at first, but even he can’t deny that Polly’s fall seems fishy. An argument at a party, a missed hairdresser’s appointment, and a red woolen bobble found on the wooden boards where Polly last stood provide a trail of clues....

As they grow closer to solving the puzzling mystery, the unlikely pair stumbles upon several surprising secrets about those closest to Polly. A number of potential suspects begin to emerge. But who really disliked Polly enough to kill her? Was it Raymond, her jilted first love? Harry, her latest beau? Or Evelyn, Harry’s jealous estranged wife?

As the investigation brings them closer to the truth, Flora is intent on unmasking the killer - but will her stealthy sleuthing lead her down a dangerous path?

An utterly delightful cozy crime novel set in the fictional Sussex village of Abbeymead. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis!

©2021 Merryn Allingham (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Fantastic cozy mystery.... Fun to read.... This author knows how to keep the reader’s attention from the first chapter!" (Books and Benches)

What listeners say about Murder on the Pier

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I preferred this to the first one!

An easy book to listen to, I found this second book in the series to be better than the first. The characters are more developed. The narrator is still irritating!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

Even though I worked out who the murderer was before the end I really loved this story. Couldn't put it down. As someone who lives in Sussex & has been to the places mentioned many times, it made it even more fun to listen to. Onto book number 3, hope there's many more books in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful Escapism

Another warm and engaging story with wonderful characters. Exactly what.you need on a cold winters night. Loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely and relaxing

Beautifully read. I listen to these books to fall asleep to, so I wouldn't say it's the most dramatic story in the world but I don't mean that in a negative way! It's like a bed time story for adults that lulls you to sleep in a comforting way.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

These books remind me of Jessica Fletcher in Murder She Wrote. Easy listening with great characters from the first book. Can’t wait to get into the third story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, even better than the first book!

I love the characters, the storyline and the accents (the last as provided by the excellent narrator.) This series is progressing very nicely and I will definitely be investing in book 3!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

0

love the plots. character development lacking. jacks character is shallow so far. like it though so will carry on with the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

easy listening. Especially in the kitchen when win

wind and rain are bad .Enjoyed going back to another age to a lovely way of life .

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story line but change narrator

Narrator spoils this storyline yet again. Not suited to this type. Too high pitched and drone like. I

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Read

Narrator is brilliant. Story amusing and very well written. Hope another in the series is on the way.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Prof and spouse.
  • Prof and spouse.
  • 08-07-22

Very difficult to listen to

I listened to the first book in this series and had some trouble with the narrator’s voice but the story was fairly interesting so I decided to get this second book. This was a mistake. The narrator’s was so irritating I could not get involved in the story and just wanted it to be over.

I tried to return it but was not allowed to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denota Heiskell
  • Denota Heiskell
  • 30-04-22

Wonderfully engrossing and entertaining!

The characters are likable and draw you to care about them and want the best for them. The mystery was engaging and the killer well hidden in plain sight. overall a great read or listen. I can't wait to open the next in the series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 15-11-22

Enjoyable

Superb narrator. Enjoyable story, but also frustrating. The guilty person was obvious very early on to the reader, but Flora and Jack were completely oblivious despite gathering significant clues that should have lead them much sooner to the murderer. Still, despite Flora and Jack’s unbelievable ignorance, the lovely writing, character development, and other aspects of the story redeemed it. My affection for the characters and the village grew. I love forward to reading more of their adventures.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marian M. McCarthy
  • Marian M. McCarthy
  • 22-07-22

Great cozy set in the early 1950s

The author evokes a charming English village, post WWII. Flora Steele, the plucky heroine and amateur sleuth, is a great partner to Jack, a veteran journalist turned mystery writer. The narrator is perfect.