Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Nothing ever happens in Little Challham...until the local pub owner is drowned in his own ale. Belinda Penshurst, owner of Challham Castle, is on the case!

Belinda Penshurst loves her home village Little Challham, with its shady lanes, two pubs, and weekly market, and she’s determined to keep it peaceful. She may live in Challham Castle, but she knows almost everything that goes on under her nose. So when irritable pub landlord Tipper is found dead in his cellar, she’s perfectly placed to investigate.

Retired detective Harry Powell moved to Little Challham for a quiet life. He didn’t expect to be dragged into a murder investigation. But the police don’t seem half as enthusiastic as Belinda about the case, and there are strange things happening in the village. Particularly the number of dogs that have disappeared lately....

Is there a dognapper snaffling schnauzers and luring away Labradors? Is Belinda barking mad to be worried that her brother Marcus was arguing with Tipper on the day he died? Belinda and Harry track down the suspects: the rival landlord, the outraged barmaid, the mysterious man in the black car following dogwalkers around. But are the dogged detectives running out of time to sniff out the killer, before he starts hounding them?

A charming cozy mystery full of laughs and eccentric characters. Fans of M.C. Beaton, H.Y. Hanna, and Emily Organ will love the first novel in the Belinda Penshurst series!

©2021 Lisa Cutts (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder in the Village

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow

Couldn’t warm to these characters. It was all laborious . The retired‘ Detective’ made me wonder how he ever rose in the ranks with such an insipid attitude.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

Another great read from Lisa Cutts. It was great to follow the new chapter in main character Harry’s life and but also to meet the new characters. Another page turner with some great twists. Can’t wait for the next one to see how the new characters develop and what’s next for Harry!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lot of fun and a very entertaining mystery

This first book in the series does a marvellous job of introducing our main characters, Belinda and Harry. Belinda is a wonderful character, quick-witted, has a sharp mind and is level-headed. I really loved their banter. Belinda's flirty double entendres and Harry's discomfort made me laugh.
There are two mysteries to solve; a murder, and a theft of thoroughbred dogs. As Belinda and Harry investigate, the two crimes increasingly appear to be connected and unfortunately, Belinda's brother seems to be caught up in it somehow.
The narration is beautifully performed making the story come alive for the reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great read from Lisa Cutts.

What a fantastic storyline, Lisa managed to transport me to the village and all the characters there in truly came to life. A great blend of of everything you need in a novel to keep you wanting more. I was kept guessing to the very end. Couldn't wait to finish it, but now I have its going to seem a long wait for the next book in the series. Will listen to it again and see if I can solve the crimes myself. Thought the narrator did a first class job too,

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 17-12-21

Absurd

This entire book is absurd! Why does female leads in this type of story have to be so unpleasant and obnoxious? I found myself rooting for her to get taken down a peg or two. I also wanted to advise Harry to run away and never stop!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ljh
  • ljh
  • 22-09-21

Makes no sense

Even a cozy mystery should make some sense. This one does not. Characters are unlikable and one dimensional. Belinda is annoying and Harry is fairly dimwitted for a former police investigator. There is no path of clues these two follow. Instead they engage in an endless stream of dashing from place to place accomplishing little. The mysteries are "solved" only because various people self-reveal their sins. And even though this is supposed to be a somewhat light hearted mystery, the cavalier attitude the characters express about murder is off-putting. Overall this story lacks direction and originality.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HMD
  • HMD
  • 02-05-22

Flawed

The premise was good. Belinda was arrogant enough to be unlikeable. It's unlikely you'd want to spend a lot of time with her. This could be easily corrected while retaining a courageous confident character.