Listen free for 30 days

  • Murder in the Village

  • A Completely Gripping English Cozy Mystery (A Belinda Penshurst Mystery, Book 1)
  • By: Lisa Cutts
  • Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
  • Length: 7 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Murder in the Village cover art

Murder in the Village

By: Lisa Cutts
Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Murder at the Gardens cover art
An English Garden Murder cover art
A Study in Stone cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
A Body in the Village Hall: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Murder Mystery cover art
Murder at the Seaview Hotel cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
Murder in Merrywell cover art
Murder-de-Sac cover art
The Murders at Foxglove Close cover art
A Date to Die For cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
The Kensington Kidnap cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
Murder at Hawthorn Cottage cover art
Poison at the Village Show cover art

Summary

Nothing ever happens in Little Challham...until the local pub owner is drowned in his own ale. Belinda Penshurst, owner of Challham Castle, is on the case!

Belinda Penshurst loves her home village Little Challham, with its shady lanes, two pubs, and weekly market, and she’s determined to keep it peaceful. She may live in Challham Castle, but she knows almost everything that goes on under her nose. So when irritable pub landlord Tipper is found dead in his cellar, she’s perfectly placed to investigate.

Retired detective Harry Powell moved to Little Challham for a quiet life. He didn’t expect to be dragged into a murder investigation. But the police don’t seem half as enthusiastic as Belinda about the case, and there are strange things happening in the village. Particularly the number of dogs that have disappeared lately....

Is there a dognapper snaffling schnauzers and luring away Labradors? Is Belinda barking mad to be worried that her brother Marcus was arguing with Tipper on the day he died? Belinda and Harry track down the suspects: the rival landlord, the outraged barmaid, the mysterious man in the black car following dogwalkers around. But are the dogged detectives running out of time to sniff out the killer, before he starts hounding them?

A charming cozy mystery full of laughs and eccentric characters. Fans of M.C. Beaton, H.Y. Hanna, and Emily Organ will love the first novel in the Belinda Penshurst series!

©2021 Lisa Cutts (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder in the Village

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow

Couldn’t warm to these characters. It was all laborious . The retired‘ Detective’ made me wonder how he ever rose in the ranks with such an insipid attitude.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

Another great read from Lisa Cutts. It was great to follow the new chapter in main character Harry’s life and but also to meet the new characters. Another page turner with some great twists. Can’t wait for the next one to see how the new characters develop and what’s next for Harry!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dreadful

Unfortunately I used a credit for this story so did listed to most of it although I skipped several chapters. Far too much description I found the character of Belinda grating as she is rude and stupid.. the plot
is poorly put together and I found it intensely annoying as it was so slow. It didn’t even get interesting until around chapter 30.
This is the first poor review I have written so feel sorry about it. There are so many other excellent cozy murder mystery writers out there.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great storyline and narrator!

I loved this book! The plot, the characters and the narrator. There were so many would be culprits, it kept me guessing right until the end ( I guessed incorrectly ). Just going to buy the second one! Highly recommend!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lot of fun and a very entertaining mystery

This first book in the series does a marvellous job of introducing our main characters, Belinda and Harry. Belinda is a wonderful character, quick-witted, has a sharp mind and is level-headed. I really loved their banter. Belinda's flirty double entendres and Harry's discomfort made me laugh.
There are two mysteries to solve; a murder, and a theft of thoroughbred dogs. As Belinda and Harry investigate, the two crimes increasingly appear to be connected and unfortunately, Belinda's brother seems to be caught up in it somehow.
The narration is beautifully performed making the story come alive for the reader.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great read from Lisa Cutts.

What a fantastic storyline, Lisa managed to transport me to the village and all the characters there in truly came to life. A great blend of of everything you need in a novel to keep you wanting more. I was kept guessing to the very end. Couldn't wait to finish it, but now I have its going to seem a long wait for the next book in the series. Will listen to it again and see if I can solve the crimes myself. Thought the narrator did a first class job too,

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!