Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Filled with mystery and Southern Black Girl Magic, Tracy Deonn’s New York Times bestselling Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend. This is an explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead!

Some legacies are meant to be broken.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity – until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus....

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so-called 'Legendborn' that hunt the creatures down.

A mysterious mage who calls himself a 'Merlin' and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she’ll go for the truth. Should she use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight?

Winner of the Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award.

©2020 Tracy Deonn Walker (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Legendborn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Modern, magical twist on a generations old story!

TW: racism, sexism, rape, child abuse, slavery. This incredible debut left me speechless and has now taken a spot in my top 3 favourite fantasy books/series. It's based on the story of King Arthur but Tracy Deonn puts a mind blowing modern, magical twist on the generations old story while intertwining a diverse character line up as well as making it historically and racially educational. Bree Matthews is a 16 year old black girl in Carolina who tragically lost her mother in a car accident and as she battles with her grief she convinces her Dad to let her leave for a residential programme at the University of North Carolina. However on their first night they witness something that unlocks a repressed memory in Bree's mind of the night her mother died which leads her on a quest to discover the truth about what really happened. I could rave about this book ALL day but it's so hard not to give spoilers! I genuinely loved every second and every character, it's such a page turner, it's filled with twists and turns and it has such an amazing ending that will lead on to the future book(s). My favourite part is definitely the incredible representation! Out of the main characters, Bree gives us Black own voices rep, Sel gives us bisexual bad boy rep and Alice gives us Taiwanese-American lesbian rep. And within the side characters there is even more LGBTQ+ rep as well as a non-binary character who uses they/them pronouns. Also, race, both now and historically, is discussed educationally as well as emotionally due to the own voice perspective and it is so powerful, especially the topic of slavery. It is all just written so perfectly. Overall (and without running out of word space), I think everyone should read this book. Honestly just go buy it. You won't regret it 🙈 P.S. Read the author notes!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read this if you love fantasy

Amazing - the new and improved throne of glass and shadowhunters!!!!!! Read this it is fantastic

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great!

This book is exciting from start to finish.
The main character has incredible depth to her.
It does cover a lot about loss, after the characters mother passes away she is dealing with a lot of grief. Just a little warning for anyone that might find this difficult for their own reasons.

I really enjoyed this book, give it a try!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not terrible but not great either.

Decent plot idea and story.
However it was relatively predictable, repetitive and the narrators voice sounded whiney when she was emphasising danger/ distress.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great find!

I never expected the storyline to go where it did, can't wait for the next!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Brest book I’ve listened to! Couldn’t stop listening to it so I definitely recommend to buy!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good plot twist.

Engaging throughout. Looking forward to part 2 and where the story leads. This felt like just a taster.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Speechless

This book made me speechless, I was absolutely enthralled by the storyline, the characters and their developments. So excited for Book 2 and 3, I cannot wait. Tracy Deonn is such an amazing author, her attention to detail and passion is just out of this world. I highly recommend ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Waiting for the Next Title

The story was gripping and had me wanting to keep listening. Now there is gonna be a Legendborn sized hole in my heart until the next book released.

My only gripe is that the narrator sometimes sounds like she is on the verge of crying when it's not necessary to the story, or pauses abruptly in the middle of a sentence for half a second.

I'm hooked and will get the next book ASAP.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

legend born

great audiobook. I couldn't stop listening, great writing and great speaking overall 5/5 for me ! well done.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for the author
  • the author
  • 25-01-21

Excellent. Must read.

I don’t often review. Overall, an excellent listen. Highly recommended.

The writing and story is excellent. The main character is instantly relatable and you root for her from the get go. The author has a turn of phrase that is impactful (it is a study in great writing) and kept me gripped in the first quarter of the book, then the plot kicks up a gear and keeps you gripped the rest of the way. I was gripped from start to finish and finished it almost in one go.

The book deals with race issues (it’s not the main thing) that ordinarily I would not be interested in, but does so without being heavy-handed or preachy, which won me over.

I don’t know why audible recommends so many bad books to me. This is a hidden gem that I discovered from a booktuber, Merphy Napier. (Check out the international Audible reviews as well.) After all the boring PC crap Audible recommends, you would think this brilliant book from a black author would be a no-brainer.

The book is based on Arthurian legends — this might have put me off. Don’t let that put you off either.

The only drawback is some narration issues. The narrator is overall a good match for the main character’s voice, though her voicing of white characters was spellbreaking for me. I was looking for the distinctive southern gentleman cadence, but didn’t get it. But in no way should this deter you from what is overall a great listen.




1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-10-21

Buffy &Vampires meets Twilight

Gripping story with realistic female leads. Its an action packed book, but just as interesting is how the main characters; healing process from grief and navigating starting uni.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fantasy sci-fi listens
  • Fantasy sci-fi listens
  • 21-05-21

Unpopular opinion

So this story definitely has so much potential, but firstly the narration... the main character’s voice was great, but the story stated that most of the other characters weren’t her ethnicity yet the narrator made them all sound similar to the main characters accent so didn’t match up with the storyline. Secondly I felt like the main character was whining and not a strong character so inherently I already disliked her personality... I stuck with the story to see if there would be an improvement and there was but not by much aside from the physical powers the personality didn’t develop much. This was recommended to me and I liked the main character being African American but I felt the story kept digressing to her race constantly and I feel some of that was great but too much just distracted from the story I wanted a supernatural story with a kick ass main female protagonist which is t really what I got. Maybe the harsh review is partly because I felt the story just didn’t live up to the hype. I would definitely try future books by this author and narrator just that this one didn’t do it for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. Mohapi
  • R. Mohapi
  • 21-04-21

Amazing narration and captivating story

Joniece Abbott-Pratt brings an already beautiful story to life. Her style brings depth to each character.