Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Ice-cold drinks, summer sun and colourful characters - welcome to the perfect village pub!

Nestled in the quiet countryside sits the cosy village of Little Monkham, home of the Star and Sixpence, a renovated pub owned by sisters Sam and Nessie. As the locals welcome the new season, it appears that change is afoot in their tiny community, and not all of it for the better....

Nessie is moving in with her boyfriend, leaving Sam alone in the pub. But with the arrival of new chef Gabriel causing a flutter among the women of the village, it seems that Sam might not be so lonely after all. Having just recently come out of a relationship, Sam’s attraction to Gabe is inconvenient, but that’s the least of her worries when an unexpected visitor arrives at the pub, determined to stir up trouble.

As Gabe and Sam grow closer, Little Monkham’s latest arrival threatens to reveal a secret that will turn more than one world upside down. Can Sam and Nessie work through the fallout, or is it really last orders at The Star and Sixpence?

The brand-new novel from Holly Hepburn, author of A Year at the Star and Sixpence, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan. 

©2019 Holly Hepburn (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly does it again

A lovely story and excellent sequel, expertly read by Karen Cass. Can't wait for the next instalment👍

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great concluding story

Well read and lovely gentle storytelling to finish the story of the Star and Sixpence

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real carry-on suspense

loved the story and Karen's narration was again so colourful, that I felt like I was there in person.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book well read

There is a nice twist to this book, give it a try! Know you will like it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 13-10-19

Last orders at the star and sixpence

Great 👍. Sad at times,but worth the listen you Will not be disappointed. Love her books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Well done again Holly Hepburn. This was a lovely story. Great characters. And I enjoyed the mystery that Ruby and Gabe solved x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listening!

Just adored the second book in the Star and Sixpence duo. The story flowed at a good pace with plenty of everyday drama and one or two surprises. The narrator was smooth and made the characters come to life.
Off to find other books by author and the narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this!

it was great to go back to the star and sixpence, I love Sam and Nessie. one of my favourite narrators too , it was a fabulous story and so easy to listen to. Even brought a tear to my eye on a few occasions. would definitely recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Star!

As a follow up book this book had it all . mystery, sadness, happiness and fun all brought together by the authors clever use of already established and new characters. Another round please!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing conclusion

fabulous love story. I've enjoyed following all of these lives. Good luck Joss, Sam, Nessi and co - I feel like I know you. Thank you for the escape.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger
  • Roger
  • 28-12-19

Beyond boring

Boring boring boring boring boring.last 3 chapters something FINALLY happens.ugh death by boredom!
So very,did I say boring!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 16-09-19

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence

Last Orders at the Star and Sixpence. I loved this book as a follow up to A Year at the Star and Sixpence. Just a good book to curl up and you don't want it to finish.