Listen free for 30 days

  • Poppy's Recipe for Life

  • By: Heidi Swain
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (247 ratings)

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The heartwarming new novel from the Sunday Times best-selling author, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley.

Heidi Swain is the perfect summer escape!

©2019 Heidi Swain (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Poppy's Recipe for Life

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

Really loved this book from start to finish and the narrator is one of my favourites.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful read.

This story was well read. It made me wish that I lived in that squqre with neighbors like Poppy had.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book

I just love all Heidi swain books and this one doesn’t disappoint, it’s an amazing story from start to end and the main character are so believable that you cannot help but like them all, it was also nice to catch up with the other residence of nightingale square. This book is just fab 😀😀

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely easy-listening story

A gentle non-challenging story, beautifully read as usual by Karen Cass, my favourite narrator.

Nothing exciting, but this book definitely has a feel-good factor, and like all Heidi’s stories, leaves you feeling as if you know the characters personally.

At first I thought it was going to be a bit boring, but I ended up really enjoying it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not up to Heidi's usual standard

Usually love Heidi's books but this one just didn't get off the burner, kept waiting and waiting for it to pick up space but sadly it never did. 100% predictable, even the so called hidden 'twists' to the story you could spot a mile off.
Karen Cass a fantastic narrator as always and sods the best she could to bring this poor story to life

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Loved this Book.

I love this author, she just writes such easy listening stories.
The narrator is perfect so the 2 together makes the experience of listening to this book really enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pleasant read

This is a pleasant story, not terribly exciting but relaxing and honest. Perhaps a bit predictable, I think I knew the outcome about 2 chapters in but beautifully read by Karen Cass.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit same all the way through

I liked it but wasn’t excited about listening to it, there was no excitement in the book. The characters were very predictable in their stories.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Seriously boring

Very boring from the beginning and very slow story. The reading doesn’t help either. Disappointing overall

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Bored

Narrator made the best of a boring story. Not Ms Swain's usual good listen. Unable to engage with characters.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lori
  • Lori
  • 27-07-20

The perfect summer read

Heidi Swain never disappoints and Poppy’s Recipe for Life is a summer delight.
Nightingale Square and it’s residents will quickly capture your heart. Heidi creates relatable scenarios that always leave me craving more. This is a must read/listen if you are a fan of her work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah
  • Deborah
  • 03-07-20

Light summer read

Cozy light summer read. Made me want to find a little village with people who care about each other. Great escape during this bleak times.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sherry A. Lyon
  • Sherry A. Lyon
  • 04-04-22

It’s an ok story

I love this writer. This book was so-so. Normally I devour them. This was like cold Mac n cheese. I liked the narrator.