Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure....

The riveting new novel from number one best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher. 

When Roxy comes home unexpectedly one day to give her husband, Dave, a lovely surprise, it's Roxy who gets shock of her life. And all she wants to do is run away. 

Roxy knows she has to face up to what's happened and decide: forgive and forget, or bring an end to a decade-long marriage. Surely the right thing is to get over it - that's what Dave thinks. After all, it's just one mistake....

But Roxy finds it's not so simple. Especially when another secret starts to emerge. Her friends and family all know what they'd do - but they're not Roxy....

©2019 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Her Husband's Mistake

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A bit of an anti climax!

This book started off really well and I had high hopes for the rest of it, but it dragged on a bit and some parts were just meaningless. For example when her husband Dave and their daughter got ill, I thought,"where is this leading? .......it led nowhere!! It was pointless. Her husband was a vile man, a chauvinistic prat and so unlikable. I enjoyed the tales involving her driving and the little side stories about her clients, but I really thought that things would get a bit more interesting and exciting towards the end, but that didn't happen. I enjoyed listening to the book, but in the end it was just a nothing!
The narrator was great and I loved her Irish accents. She was very good at changing her tone and accent slightly for the different characters.
Overall, I enjoyed the 'listen' but it could have had a better ending.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pleasant, but too long!

This is a pleasant story, with well drawn, engaging characters. It’s a simple (predictable) tale though and does not merit over 11 hours. It would truly benefit from the writing being more concise. It would be better if cut by, maybe a third! Aoife McMahon’s narration is soothing and faultless as usual.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good lusten

Really enjoyed this book... love Aoife McMahon narrating too. Makes an easy listen.. recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

captivating storyline

A beautifully concieved and crafted story written with depth and detail. Extraordinarily well performed bringing that wonderfully crafted storyline vividly into being. exciting, thrilling and enthralling, my only critique is it ended. completely addictive.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Part enjoyable, part irritating

In essence a good story, but a bit slow.
Aoife McMahon's performance is very pleasant but for the irritating, unrealistic tone of the phone conversations and the unconvincing, nasal male parts.
If you're looking for some easy listening, the book is alright.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book

Extremely well read, loved all the animated voices. Such a good story but want to find out what happens now with Ivo. Given 5 stars and well worth it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dull

Dull story and a poor abrupt ending. The narrator was good though. The story wasn't believable

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely easy listening

loved it. great narration great characters just easy listening while out walking l9ve sheila o Flanagan books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth the listen x

Really great worth the listen- Thought provoking too x Especially if you’re a woman x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Loved every moment of this book! It grabbed me from page 1 ! Brilliantly written, laugh out loud moments! Empowering for women!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 04-06-19

Her Husband's Mistake

Her Husband's Mistake. Really struggling with this book. I pre ordered it as I like most of Sheila O'Flanagans books.
I cannot get past the first couple of chapters. I just find it depressing so far

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joan
  • joan
  • 25-07-19

Easy read

Well performed but average storyline. You can put this on, take a nap and when you wake up, you haven’t missed anything. Ok if you want a predictable non complicated story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Collene Suyan Anderson
  • Collene Suyan Anderson
  • 24-07-19

MUST READ

This book is a must read.... Especially for those married couples who've been through divorce or going through it... dealing with cheating wives or husbands. It sets ALOT of perspective and clear some parts o felt like cussing her out but that's only because the book keeps you so drawn into it as if you were living the life in her shoes.... loved it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brenda Quinlan
  • Brenda Quinlan
  • 06-10-22

The Doormat and the Dinosaur

It's always painful to listen to a contemporary story about a female who is a submissive doormat to a self entitled dinosaur. The audacity of presumed female ownership by the over indulged husband made it difficult to finish the book. Both characters ended up sounding like they lived in early 1950's. The husband feeling totally justified in treating his wife like a child and her tolerance and self recriminations were the reasons it was hard to feel more than disdain for the characters.

Loved the narrators voice although there were a few odd bits where the tone changed to replicate a phone call but it was not done consistently so felt out of place.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kallyn waddington
  • Kallyn waddington
  • 27-04-21

Read it for the narrator

This narrator is one of my favorites but I struggled through this book. It was repetitive and pointless and just dragged on...

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 11-01-21

My first O'Flanagan and won't be my last

I really enjoyed this book. The way O'Flanagan writes is so intimate, you really feel like you get to know the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ktbyrd
  • ktbyrd
  • 04-06-19

Women Driver has it all

Driving the car and being good at it, is just one challenge to convention in this book.