Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £36.69

Buy Now for £36.69

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Harry Potter meets the Hunger Games!

Ever since magic stormed the world, the price for human survival is surrendering your firstborn to the monsters. But this year it's Nova's turn, and the monsters better watch their backs.

I am the firstborn in my family. The first of three. And today I will pay the price for my siblings' lives by surrendering control of my own. I will step through the runegate, and I will never see my family again.

What the others do with the firstborn is shrouded in mystery. All anyone knows is they are never heard from again.

I will step through the runegate willingly.

But I can keep secrets, too. And I'll do whatever it takes to bring the others to their knees....

Fans of Harry Potter, Shadowspell Academy, Harley Merlin, and the Hunger Games series, welcome to a magical new world packed with adventure, intrigue, romance, and characters you'll fall in love with.

Contains all three books in the Firstborn Academy series: Shadow Trials (book one), Shadow Witch (book two), and Shadow Reaper (book three).

©2019 Isla Frost (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Firstborn Academy: The Complete Trilogy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

I really love this book.. It was hard to stop listening to this book. I can without a doubt recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting

I thoroughly enjoyed this trilogy. I just wish it were longer.
Excellent Author
fantastic reading voice
would definitely recommend

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Loved it. Can't wait for the next listen from the same writer.

Fantasy, sci-fi, romance all in one! Just what I wanted!

Thank you!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Firstborn Academy

This is a great trilogy, where learning to rethink all you have learned and trust, who you thought was your enemy is the only way to defeat what is killing your planet and friends. Read brilliantly by Amanda Dolan.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Couldn't stop listening! Narrator was brilliant and perfect for the audio but paused between words too long sometimes so I thought it had gone off 🤭 Had everything you want in a book of this genre without being childish. Need more books from this author!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

thoroughly enjoyable

great little gem of a trilogy! easy to listen to, story runs at a good pace 👌

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the escape into mythical adventure!

Loved the story, the mythical creatures, magic, danger, near death and love! Great to listen to

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

grate book loved it

i loved it ❤ its soo good a must read ❤ ❤ 😍 🥰 🥰

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very captivating Trilogy

Lots of mystery, often times keeping you on your toes.
Would recommend to those who enjoy dystopian novels.
Particularly if you enjoy Harry Potter, the hunger games, divergent and the darkest minds.
Had a good few laughs throughout.

Would love to see it made into a film.

Definitely recommend a listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very captivating.

Once I started it, I had to listen to all of it. Very good story and well paced.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan Webster
  • Megan Webster
  • 29-05-21

I wouldn’t recommend

I’m not sure why this book has such high reviews, but insinuating it’s on the same level as the writings of Harry Potter is offensive. The concept is great but the writing is terrible. The inner monologues throughout the book are lengthy and repetitive. It is like 90% inner monologue. The author should have given up some of that in favor of better imagery or more established bonds with the main characters and the other ones. Each book, by itself, shouldn’t be considered a singular book and are incredibly boring. As a set of three, it is acceptable if you want to skip through the characters constant inner ramblings. Overall, it is boring and it could have been amazing if someone else wrote it.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amber D Mahaffey
  • Amber D Mahaffey
  • 09-06-21

all-around great audiobook

I absolutely love this book actually all three books in the trilogy was great the narrator she did a fantastic job on all three books and the most memorable moment has to be well heck there's a lot of them but I have to say there were tears here and there and laughter and it was just great all the way around the ending was perfect.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eric
  • Eric
  • 25-05-21

It is really a romance story

I will only say this don’t waste your time on this book unless you like romance stories because that is what this series is; it is not a science fiction story.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brett Bishop
  • Brett Bishop
  • 06-09-20

YA at it's best!

So many YA books claim to be "Harry Potter meets the Hunger Games" in their description and this books is no exception to this. The exception is that it truly is "Harry Potter meets the Hunger Games" in many ways. This book is a perfect mixture of being taken away by the powers that be for an unknown purpose and MAGIC! Is this book free of all the YA tropes, no, do those tropes work in a new and unique way, yes. Also, unlike a lot of the recent YA hits that have very disappointing ends, this one breaks from those hits with an end that works and will leave you satisfied. Also, all 3 books for a single credit, what do you have to loose?

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-12-21

fun read

this series held together fairly well. the writer definitely has limited life experience to draw on and relies heavily on comuter gaming models, but i didnt return this purchase and i will probably listen to it again. considering how many i have returned unfinished in this genre over the last year, thats a high compliment

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 30-04-21

bonds that captivated

Brin is my favorite character, she had me laugh on several occasions! Best friendships formed

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Candy Miller
  • Candy Miller
  • 31-08-21

Good, but too many very long pauses in narration.

The narrator was good at emoting, but so many pauses were so long it became annoying overall. Loved the story, it felt new to me in regards to the ark. Loved it overall.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chevonne Keesee
  • Chevonne Keesee
  • 09-08-21

loved it!

great story!
I would definitely recommend it and read it again. it was a great adventure story with a great heroine!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MFReads
  • MFReads
  • 30-05-21

When Worlds Collide

I am a huge fan of box sets so I had no issue in purchasing this trilogy. This is the first book I have read by Isla Frost. This trilogy is a clean read. Secondary students who love, action, adventure, and magic will love this.

Imagine the world being attacked by an alien species and they win. Now humankind is enslaved and does not have the freedoms they once had. In order to stop the bloodshed a treaty was sign between the alien species and the humans. The firstborn of each family will go through a portal when they come of age. It does not matter if they are male or female. However, no one knowns what is on the other side of the portal. Everyone who has ever gone through has never come back.

As the title suggests, there is a firstborn academy that all who enter the portal must attend. Human have magic? How can a house have emotions? What happens with the enemy you've hated all of your life turns out not to be the enemy you thought? How can one develop feelings for the enemy? It is a telling of the coming together of worlds to battle evil. Only by working together and trusting each other can they succeed.

Amanda Dolan narrates all three novels. She has a nice voice and is easy to listen too. She is able to read the male voices successfully to the point that I forget there is one person reading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda Gutierrez
  • Amanda Gutierrez
  • 11-08-22

Fantastic Books

The narrator and books are awesome. I love Amanda Dolan's performance and the writing keeps you engaged from beginning to end.