Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.79

Buy Now for £13.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Sky Broussard has spent the last nine years of her life fighting for custody and raising her nephews. Between trying to make ends meet as a waitress at the Bon Temps Café, and keeping an eye on two troublesome teens, she’s had zero time for indulgences like romance.

No worries, she hasn’t been interested in the opposite sex for a long time. Not until she meets the snarling, growling, hotter-that-an-inferno hunk who caught her nephews trespassing on his swampland deep in the Louisiana bayou.

Too bad he’s off his rocker. Seriously. He thinks he’s a dragon, calls her his mate, follows her home, and refuses to leave her side. She really should put a stop to the insanity. She really should. Except, her libido is running on overdrive and, who knows, he might be her chance to finally lose her V-card.

This is the first book of Candace Ayers' latest series, Dragons of the Bayou. This book introduces the series, the setting, and a few of the characters thereby priming the stage for subsequent shifter romances set in the swamplands of the deep south.

This is a hot and spicy, super steamy paranormal dragon shifter fantasy romance from Candace Ayers and Lovestruck Romance with an HEA and no cliff-hangers. Fans of Zoe Chant, Terry Bolryder, Harmony Raines, and Ruby Dixon may like this dragon shapeshifter series.

©2018 Lovestruck Romance (P)2021 Lovestruck Romance

What listeners say about Fire Breathing Beast

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dragons

This is a fairly quick listen, as it’s under 5 hours. It is an excellent series starter and introduction to the dragons that live near the Bayou. The heroine is so focused on giving her two nephews a normal life she almost walks away from a great adventure. This book does have its HEA, the journey to get there is pact full of angst and heartwarming laughter. He’s old school and she wants independence.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S Reader
  • S Reader
  • 23-11-21

Thoroughly entertaining!

I liked that Sky is an innocent during an age where sex is considered a sport Instead of something special. The beast is a strong alpha males that knows how to treat his lady. The storyline held my interest from beginning to end. I found the setting very unique with a castle in the Bayou. The heroine had a very likable personality to boot– taking care of her nephews, cat lover, and around caring individual

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah Apodaca
  • Deborah Apodaca
  • 19-10-21

Teena Scott brought this book to life!

This book is from both Sky and Beast's POV and Teena Scott does an amazing job as both the female and male voices of this story!

I loved her transitioning into Beast. Not only does she give him an old-world accent and tone of speech, but she keeps in male character for whole chapters. Throughout the book, Teena speaks both male and female parts and doesn't miss a beat transitioning back and forth.

If you haven't heard Teena Scott, I highly recommend her as she truly brought this story to life!



Book Review:

Sky is a waitress and luckily her boss is pretty lenient with her nephews, Nick and Casey, hanging out in the back after school. She became their guardian after her brother was sent to prison and at times she thought she would be there right beside him after she killed her teenage nephews who were determined to drive her crazy.

As she takes the order from a customer, she notices Nick's shoes sticking out the office door, but her heart freezes as she notices that they are at a weird angle. Sure enough when she goes to the office her nephew's shoes are there - without her nephew wearing them. She is livid that they would do this again and she still has a few hours before going to find them. Hopefully, they don't get into too much trouble before then.

When she gets a call from her nephews telling her they are in trouble and need her to pick them up she is relieved and anxious at the same time. And then furious when she finds out that they took the boat into the bayou. After getting directions she discreetly, although she did get caught, borrows her neighbor's boat and heads deep into the bayou. She's never been this far in because NO ONE goes this far in. She is so grounding those boys.

All she can imagine are creepy men like you see in horror movies, but as she gets closer to her destination she is surprised to find herself in a lake...and is that a castle? Maybe they aren't so creepy after all. When a tall gorgeous man answers the door her fears fall away.

Until he introduces himself as Beast and tells her that she is his mate and he is a dragon!

I loved this book. It is very well written and the characters are very relatable. Despite Beast being a dragon, this story is very realistic and the storyline kept my attention from beginning to end. I listened to this book in audio format and highly recommend it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dawn
  • Dawn
  • 19-09-21

Fire breathing passionate fun!

This book about single mom destined for an eternal mate story was phenomenal. I love the mutant rodent too.

Teena did an amazing job at bringing each character to life and making their personalities jump off the pages and into your mind!

This was my first listen by these authors and I was enthralled from beginning to end. I hope that there are more to follow and that this becomes a series. I am a huge fan of destiny providing a HEA!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NCgirl
  • NCgirl
  • 12-03-22

if you like laughing at bad movies, this book

is for you (and me). It's such a formulaic story about the alpha shifter huge rich old man- child and the tiny human virgin waitress, it could be studied in school. I really hope it was written tongue-in-cheek because between the words and the performance, it would be a shame otherwise. The only drama was between the woman and the dragon, with a bit between her and her teen nephews that she is raising. Even the sex was like listening to a journal written by an egotistical playboy college football player. See how I'm reduced to noun strings?

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mzlew
  • mzlew
  • 07-03-22

Don't ask and he won't tell

I hate misunderstandings that result from non communication. I dislike heroines that walk away for unjustified reasons. I especially dislike when one of three main outdoor don't apologize when they should.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Missy Goodsell
  • Missy Goodsell
  • 16-09-21

awesome audios book

characters were believable and made this book great, story line was smooth. once I started listening I couldn't stop.