Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Romantic Novel of the Year Award.

If I can choose how to live my own life, why can’t I choose how to die my own death? 

Eudora Honeysett is done - with all of it. Having seen first-hand what a prolonged illness can create, the 85-year-old has no intention of leaving things to chance. With one call to a clinic in Switzerland she takes her life into her own hands.

But then 10-year-old Rose arrives in a riot of colour on her doorstep. Now, as precocious Rose takes Eudora on adventures she’d never imagined, she reflects on the trying times of her past and soon finds herself wondering - is she ready for death when she’s only just experienced what it’s like to truly live?

A heartfelt story of life, death, friendship and family perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman 

©2020 Annie Lyons (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"An exquisitely poignant tale of life, friendship and facing death. In the latter, the author dares to explore a subject that many shy away from, but she does so with touching sensitivity, gentle humour and absolute honesty. Eudora’s courage, dignity and wry sense of fun are beautifully drawn as she takes the reader on the heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting journey of her life and death. Everyone should read this book." (Ruth Hogan, Sunday Times best-selling author of The Keeper of Lost Things)

What listeners say about Eudora Honeysett Is Quite Well, Thank You

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

This beautiful poignant book made me laugh, cry and truly think about what's important in life.

The story covers friendship, love, kindness and tackles the difficult subject of death with a beautiful lightness of touch. The variety of characters delight and restore ones faith in humanity with their sense of warmth and humour.

I can't wait for Annie Lyons next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A little bit of everything

This book has everything. From start to finish I absolutely loved Eudora. Getting to know her bit by bit reminded me that everyone has a story, and maybe we should stop and listen a little more closely to those around us. It is one of those rare reads that will stay with me for a long while.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The epitome of kindness & innocence

Loved this book. Had recently listened to some really good books do was apprehensive about starting this. It is on my list of favourite books. It was so much better than I expected. It was full of warmth, kindness & friendship. Beautifully narrated by Nicole the McKenzie who also narrated Away With The Penguins (also brilliant). Wonderful listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Everyone should listen to this book so wonderful

Absolutely loved this story a true reminder that kindness is the key to happiness


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding

this book is delightful. made me laugh, cry, be happy and sad, had me sobbing my heart out and feel all fuzzy warm inside...loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What’s wonderful story.

I listened to this audiobook, because I saw that it had been favourably reviewed by Ruth Hogan, whose books I’ve listened to & thoroughly enjoyed. I was not disappointed.
This story tells us about how an elderly lady’s life is transformed by the happy & sad events that have taken place & how a little girl lights up her final few months.
Please listen to this book. I am sure you will be pleased that you did.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It

I loved this book it will stay with me for a long time. Excellent narrator