Listen free for 30 days

  • The House on the Water's Edge

  • By: CE Rose
  • Narrated by: Sarah Ovens
  • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The House on the Water's Edge cover art

The House on the Water's Edge

By: CE Rose
Narrated by: Sarah Ovens
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £19.89

Buy Now for £19.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Sometimes the past is best left buried. Since the birth of baby Joe five weeks ago, Ali Baker has been struggling to cope. Starved of sleep and haunted by painful memories from the past, she's a million miles away from the polished, professional barrister she has worked so hard to become.

Then her mother tragically and unexpectedly dies, leaving Ali an orphan. Haunted by her loss, Ali can't forget her mother's last words to her: There is something I really need to tell you...

Heading back to the Norfolk Broads to sort her mother's things, Ali is plunged into memories of her family's picture-perfect summers on the river.

But as she starts to uncover secrets hidden within the isolated house, Ali is drawn into a dark web that threatens to destroy everything she believed about her childhood – and her very sanity.

Ali may finally discover her mother's secrets... but at what cost?

A gripping, captivating psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Samantha Hayes and S.E. Lynes.

©2021 Hera (P)2021 Hera

Critic reviews

What an emotional, twisty, rollercoaster of a novel! It kept me guessing all the way through.
-- Alice Hunter, author of "The Serial Killer's Wife"

A novel that gradually creeps under your skin… suffocatingly claustrophobic with an 'oh my goodness' finale!
-- Carla Kovach, author of "The Next Girl"

Absorbing from start to finish. The climax is incendiary. It set my day on fire.
-- Amanda Robson, author of "Obsession"

The creeping sense of doom reached its crescendo and did not disappoint. The twists and revelations left me reeling!
-- Ruby Speechley, author of "The Face at the Window"

This gripping, twisty tale of family secrets and ancient lies coming home to roost is a real rollercoaster of emotion. I couldn't put it down… What a fantastic read!
-- Judi Daykin, author of "Under Violent Skies"

More from the same

What listeners say about The House on the Water's Edge

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 20-09-22

That was something

Not sure how to feel about this one. It's weird and takes an almost incestuous turn. Then they whine because they can't, kinda gross. Alison whines so much and acts only bad things happen to her when they don't. She annoyed me through the entire book.

Then the end gets even weirder when it didn't need to be