Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Good Girls cover art

Good Girls

By: Amanda Brookfield
Narrated by: Deryn Edwards
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

All Good Things cover art
The Split cover art
The Other Woman cover art
Relative Love cover art
Blink cover art
Searching for Mr Yesterday cover art
There's Something I Have to Tell You cover art
The Secret to Happiness cover art
Needlemouse cover art
Tinaca Jones cover art
So Close to Being the Sh*t, Y'all Don't Even Know cover art
The Long Way Home cover art
A Home in the Sun cover art
Something Quite Beautiful cover art
They Call Me the Cat Lady cover art
Picking up the Pieces cover art

Summary

*Shortlisted for The People's Book Prize* 'No one gets to the heart of human relationships quite so perceptively as Brookfield.' The Mirror Who can you trust with your darkest secrets...

Everyone that meets Kat Keating is mesmerised. Beautiful, smart and charming, she is everything a good girl should be.

Her sister Eleanor, on the other hand, knows she can't compete with Kat. On the awkward side of tall, clever enough to be bullied, and full of the responsibilities only an older sibling can understand, Eleanor grows up knowing she’s not a good girl.

This is the story of the Keating sisters - through a childhood fraught with dark secrets, adolescent rivalries, and on into adulthood with all its complexities and misunderstandings. Until a terrible truth from the past brings the sisters crashing together, and finally Eleanor begins to uncover just how good Kat really was.

Good Girls is a mystery, a love story, a coming-of-age story, and a tear-jerker. But most of all it’s a reminder of who to keep close and who to trust with your darkest secrets. Perfect for fans of Jane Fallon, Celeste Ng, and Julie Cohen.

©2019 Amanda Brookfield (P)2019 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"No one gets to the heart of human relationships quite so perceptively as Brookfield." (The Mirror)

What listeners say about Good Girls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad for a freebie!

If you’ve ran out of credits, this isn’t bad but I’m glad I didn’t purchase. Maybe too much going on and mentions a lot of sensitive issues but glosses over them as minor details.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nicely written and well narrated.

Much better listen than I expected. A story with depth and some interesting family dynamics. The narration was generally good, but I do wish that narrators would listen carefully to accents before they embark on a reading . The South African accents were truly dreadful.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Creative and addictive

Wonderful book , very addictive and couldn’t wait to keep listening until the next time I could get back to the book, well read , with all of the emotion of the book, well done all

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absorbing story

I didn’t expect much of this book as free on audible plus but I really enjoyed it and listened to it almost in 1 go. The characters were well drawn and I grew to really care about the sisters and their narrative. A romantic and ultimately satisfying read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best free books I have listened to

I found this book kept one interested. Great narrator’, in fact the best narrator I have listened to for years. Really enjoyed the story and especially the ending

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent listen

I loved listening to this book . Its about love and life and sadly death . its about 2 sisters that love each other , one becomes very ill but didnt tell her sister she was not going to make it . the character Vincent is not a nice man he became a vicar at 40 who was married to the best off mums , they had two young girls , good girls and the story revolves around their life's, Its a brilliant book a must to listen too

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved!

loved this book, excellent story and characters and the narrator was also very good. would recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Great story all the way the through. Enjoyed the interview at the end with the author too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written and enjoyable

A pleasant read, quite sad with believable characters - would recommend to friends to read a

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Strong Characters, Good Plot

Strong characters, good plot, bit weak in places but overall an enjoyable listen and nice ending

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!