Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Dig Two Graves

  • The Detective Solomon Gray Series 1
  • By: Keith Nixon
  • Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
  • Length: 6 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Dig Two Graves cover art

Dig Two Graves

By: Keith Nixon
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £1.99

Buy Now for £1.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Long Time Dead cover art
False Start cover art
Devil's Chimney cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
Return to Evil cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
Broadland cover art
The Dead of Midwinter cover art
Dark Is the Grave cover art
Silent Tide cover art
The Landscape of Death cover art
The Mayfly cover art
Detective Tom Janssen Hidden Norfolk, Books 1-3 cover art

Summary

Was it suicide… or murder? When teenager Nick Buckingham tumbles from the fifth floor of an apartment block, Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray answers the call with a sick feeling in his stomach. The victim was just a kid, sixteen years old. And the exact age the detective's son, Tom, would've been, had he not gone missing at a funfair ten years ago. Each case involving children haunts Gray with the reminder that his son may still be out there - or worse, dead. The seemingly open and shut case of suicide twists into a darker discovery. Buckingham and Gray have never met, so why is Gray's number on the dead teenager's mobile phone?

With his boss, Detective Inspector Yvonne Hamson, Gray begins to unravel a murky world of abuse, lies, and corruption. An investigator from the Met is called in to assist, setting the local police on edge. And when the body of Reverend David Hill is found shot to death in the vestry of Gray's old church, Gray wonders how far the depravity stretches and who might be next.

Nothing seems connected, and yet there is one common thread: Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray, himself. As the bodies pile up, Gray must face his own demons. Crippled by loss but determined to find the truth, Gray takes the first step on the long road of redemption.

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller. "Dig Two Graves" is the first book in a series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. The crime series is perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

About the Author:
Keith Nixon is a British born writer of crime and historical fiction novels. Originally, he trained as a chemist, but Keith is now in a senior sales role for a high-tech business. Keith currently lives with his family in the North West of England.
©2017 Bastei Lübbe (Lübbe Audio) (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

Critic reviews


...deeply emotional, a dark rollercoaster ride.
-- Ed James, author of bestselling "DI Fenchurch series"

The book is just fantastic. Rare to rarest to find wonderful heart kickin' compassion in a crime novel. Solomon is a true keeper.
-- Ken Bruen, author of the "Jack Taylor series"

A compelling murder mystery with a multilayered and engaging new hero. Great read.
-- Mason Cross, author of the "Carter Blake thriller series"

What listeners say about Dig Two Graves

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Premier League of Audio Books

Don't judge me, but this isn't the first time I've listened to Dig Two Graves; it's my second. Also, I've read the book about 3 or 4 times, (OK, 6 times, but who's counting?). But I have a really good reason, honestly, gather round and pay attention because I don't want everyone to know. The reason I've read and listened to Dig Two Graves by Keith Nixon so many times is because.....IT'S ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Really and truly, you can't get better than this. Is Solomon Gray the unluckiest man in the world? I just want to help him. He doesn't seem to be inundated with good friends or any family and even though he's a borderline alcoholic, a curmudgeon and foul tempered, it seems to me that it's a defensive wall he's put up to protect himself from any more hurt. How he manages to stay sane when he has no idea if Tom is alive or dead is beyond me. Considering everything he's seen and suffered, his moral compass is remarkably stable. The action is fast paced, the characters are well drawn and credible and the location is unusual. Ben Onwukwe does a marvellous job, giving voice to Mr Nixon's excellently crafted, meticulously honed and thoughtfully placed words. Big, huge, ginormous recommendation to buy Dig Two Graves; the book and the audio version. Treat yourself right now; you can always thank me later!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing... cant wait for the next in the series

I struggled to start to get into listening to this but that was mainly I think as was so different to my last Audible both in the story and the voice. I loved the character of detective grey and cant wait to see him develop. He has been through so much and though can seem abrasive because of this you can tell it is due to being hurt. This is one of the very few detective stories where I was surprised by one of the culprits and ending on cliff hanger I just know it wont take long to start the next one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent debut novel

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. DS Solomon Grey is a complex character with years of emotional baggage which he carries around with him.
As a result of this he comes across as a dour, irascible character who is not really liked by many of his colleagues.
Despite all this, Keith’s excellent writing style makes you want the best for Sol as he endeavours to solve the case of a young, apparent suicide victim.
At the end of a book, there is teaser, which leads you to believe there will be more to come from Solomon Grey!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good start to the series.

This is a very good read/listen
We follow Solomon Gray a Detective Sergeant whose life has more dark clouds than a thunderstorm. Don't be mislead, despite his at times gruelling existence it is a fast paced, well-written, gripping story, intertwining Gray's personal history with a series of recent crimes that he is both working to solve and to some extent personally involved in.
I loved this book. I love that the flaws of the people in it don't feel contrived, even though if I sat down and wrote out all the things that have happened to one person it would seem ridiculously incredible. The people feel real, there are always slightly brighter moments and Solomon is surprisingly likeable.
I found it to be well narrated and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Broken Hero

DS Solomon Gray is a man haunted by the mysterious disappearance, ten years ago, of his six year old son from the ghost train at a fair. Five years after that Sol’s wife committed suicide. In this book Sol has to investigate the death of Nick Buckingham who falls from a 5th floor window. He was the same age as Sol’s son would be.

I really enjoyed this well written police procedural which had plenty of twists and turns to keep me listening, and I didn’t guess ‘whodunnit’.

I felt a bit sorry for Sol, even though he’s self destructive, belligerent and not that likeable. He has suffered so much heartbreak. He has quite a complicated relationship with the rest of his team, who were all portrayed very realistically.

I’ve never been to Margate but Keith Nixon paints a vivid picture of a seaside town in decline. It feels dark and depressing, a little like Sol himself.

I’m looking forward to listening to the next book in the series, Burn the Evidence, and I hope it continues to explore the disappearance of Sol’s son.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, great narration

Format: audiobook
Narrator: Ben Onwukwe

Solomon gray is a tortured sole after the disappearance of his young son 10 years ago so when a 16 year old boy is found (same age Gray’s son would be) having apparently committed suicide Solomon can’t help but wonder if this boy is his missing son and old wound are reopened.

This is an enjoyable read with plenty of twists to keep you invested in the plot, it’s also set in Margate in Kent which is fairly local to me so I found that particularly interesting.

The narrator has a great voice, gravelly with the right amount of tortured sole. Great to listen to he really brought dept to the characters.
I think Ben Onwukwe would be great at narrating horror too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful