Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Daughter of the Pirate King cover art

Daughter of the Pirate King

By: Tricia Levenseller
Narrated by: Marisa Calin
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Fourth Wing cover art
On These Black Sands cover art
The False Prince cover art
Dance of Thieves cover art
A Curse So Dark and Lonely cover art
The Serpent and the Wings of Night cover art
Ramsey's Gold cover art
Shell Game cover art
Toxic Dust cover art
The Red Flag cover art
Sea of Darkness cover art
A Stitch in Time cover art
The Very First Damned Thing cover art
Glass and Steele Boxed Set: Books 1-3 cover art
Dragon Blood - Omnibus cover art
Free the Darkness cover art

Summary

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I've gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

In Daughter of the Pirate King, debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale.

©2017 Tricia Levenseller (P)2017 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

"Narrator Marisa Calin smoothly manages the romantic adventure with a rhythm and cadence that keep listeners alert and involved. ...Alosa is an attractive and complex character, and Calin gives her a strong confident tone. Listeners will certainly want to hear more of her adventures, so it's good news that a second audiobook is planned." -AudioFile

"Readers should rejoice, because we now have a lady Jack Sparrow on our hands! Daughter of the Pirate King kidnapped my interest from the first chapter and never let it go! It's a superior debut with a deeply entangled romance, a fearsome heroine not to be trifled with, a clever hero that you seriously want to trifle with, and a plot twist that makes a rollercoaster seem stable. With a cunning plot, robust writing, and complicated characters, any reader will enjoy being manipulated in Levenseller's capable hands. Definitely for fans of Pirates of the Caribbean, fierce heroines, slow-burning romances, and adventures that can turn sour in the space of a gasp. Not for fans of complacent heroines, soothing plots, or those who don't speak sarcasm." -- Anna Banks, author of the New York Times Bestseller Of Triton

" Levenseller has created a formidable female character who can take care of herself as she makes some hard decisions. Hand to skilled readers seeking true adventure with swashbuckling, sword fighting, and a great problem-solving heroine." —School Library Journal

What listeners say about Daughter of the Pirate King

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good listen

Suggested to me and really enjoyed. Recommend to anyone who wants an easy listen. Enjoy

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

4.5/5

a fun YA fantasy romance, great summer read. I would recommend it for fans of ACOTAR and Fable

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great narrator 'Meh' story

The narrator did an excellent job. I liked the protagonist and her 'boyfriend'. The chemistry between them worked well... but the story itself wasn't that good.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

I have listened to and read this book and it is amazing I recommend to anyone
well worth the listen/read

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Fav book - action, romance , one bed trope, no spice , strong femal e lead. Just perfect and the reader does the different voices very well without it being annoying.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best book ever

I loved it and listen to it all the time it is my favourite book ever

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just PERFECT!👌🏻

The n@rr@tor was just @n 👼 @ngel @nd the story just blew my mind 💥.Over @ll, best book I h@ve ever listened to. Definitely listening to book two ( D@ughter of the Siren Queen)... C@n't w@it😄!!!!!!!!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I stayed for the romance

This is more of a personal nitpick but I really didn’t like how it was written, if you like/don’t mind simple writing it’s a good story but if you’re like me and don’t, don’t bother. Ngl I wouldn’t have regretted buying the audiobook + the kindle books if it didn’t cost as much as it did, this book was a waste of my monthly credit :/ shame tho, the idea was cool but definitely not for me

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice, easy listen

Nice, easy listen. Decent story with an unusual female protagonist. Would recommend and likely listen to again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CV
  • 25-09-21

An enjoyable listen

Picked this up after reading a review of it in a bookish group on Facebook. As I wanted something light and easy, I thought I would give this a try. It was quite fun, I must say. I though Eloisa’s character was smart, brave and really witty.

I would continue with book 2!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!