Listen free for 30 days

  • Broken Promises

  • DS Allie Shenton, Book 4
  • By: Mel Sherratt
  • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
  • Length: 7 hrs and 26 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Broken Promises cover art

Broken Promises

By: Mel Sherratt
Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £15.59

Buy Now for £15.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Limekiln Estate has witnessed many a dark crime over the years. When DI Allie Shenton is called out to a suspicious death, she isn't surprised to see it's a local she knows only too well.

While the slaying of Billy Whitmore is on everyone's lips, a woman is stabbed in her home. A day later and a third victim turns up.

Three known associates brutally murdered—the bodies are piling up quicker than the forensic evidence is coming back. Yet Allie senses there's something more disturbing going on. She's sure Fiona Abbott, Billy's partner, is involved too.

With enemies from her past rearing their ugly heads, and the press and public up in arms, Allie has her work cut out to get to the shocking truth. Can she and her loyal team stop the killer who has a close-knit community living in fear?

And by raking up secrets from the past, has she made the Abbott family the next target, especially fourteen-year-old Kelsey?

Set within the gritty streets of Stoke-on-Trent, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with an emotional pull.

Broken Promises is the fourth novel in the Allie Shenton series of crime thrillers from the million-selling British author, Mel Sherratt, and perfect for fans of DS Butler, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, Rachel McClean, Caroline Mitchell and Meg Jolly.

©2022 Mel Sherratt (P)2022 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"A gritty, authentic, fast-paced read that you won't want to put down." (Caroline Mitchell)

What listeners say about Broken Promises

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.