Listen free for 30 days

  • Blackmist

  • My Best Friend Is an Eldritch Horror, Book 1
  • By: Actus
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 12 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (58 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Blackmist cover art

Blackmist

By: Actus
Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Damien nearly ended the world. Now, his mistake might be the only thing that can save it.

Good things come to those who wait. Damien Vale didn’t, and he ended up bound to an Eldritch creature from beyond the reaches of space. It has lived since the dawn of time, seen the world born and destroyed countless times, and wants to be called Henry.

Unusual companion or not, Damien was still determined to go to a mage college and study magic. He wants nothing more than to live normal life as a researcher, but if Henry’s true nature is revealed, he’ll be killed.

To top it all off, Damien’s teacher is a madman from the front lines of war, his alcoholic dean suspects something is awry with his companion, and Blackmist might possibly be the worst school in history. Damien has to prevent the end of the world, but he isn’t even sure he’s going to make it through Year One at Blackmist.

Blackmist is a slice-of-life mixed with LitRPG in a magic school setting. A slow-build power fantasy from Actus, the best-selling author of Morcster Chef. It's perfect for fans of Cradle, Iron Prince, and Mage Errant.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Blackmist

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Iron prince it is not

This is not the same as iron prince no where near the same quality or depth. It’s an OK book but the characters and the story is not that well developed just OK

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

excellent start to the saga

Loved it! I like other books from Actus and Peter Berkrot is just perfect for the characters so I was looking forward to this one and wasn't disappointed. Can't wait for the next one.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Enjoyable with a nice twist for magic use

A very easy listen, not deep or complex but that is no bad thing. Developing the magic use was interesting and so want to find out how things progress in book 2. Was worth the listen and there is scope to develop the context with the quests and the main storyline.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book

I really loved it, the performance wasn't perfect but it was still really good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

“I am it who heralds the end of all light… you may call me Henry”

Really great story and really well narrated. I found myself drawn in and not wanting to put the book down. I really hope I get to hear more in the series!
This is my honest opinion on a free review copy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ed Giniat
  • Ed Giniat
  • 17-10-22

What a breath of fresh air

this is the first book since iron prince, or super powereds that have enjoyed an Academy book

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-10-22

Pretty Good

The story line was enjoyable, a little bit slow in parts. I was surprised to that there were stats in the book. I personally enjoy them and it was a happy surprise. I also like the main characters companion. Worth the credit to me. I wish there was more.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • 30-09-22
Listener received this title free

New favorite book!

I picked this book up because I've enjoyed books by Actus before, and I'm waiting for next book in the Morcster Chef series! But I found that Blackmist was soooooooo Damn Good that now I hafta wait for the next book in this series 😶😆. Of course Peter Berkrot voice narration is on par-excellent!
The book starts when Damien (MC) accidently summons an eldritch horror and they slowly but surely develop a working (and perhaps even friendly!) relationship. The book is kinda an awesome slice-of-life, mixed with a magic school (having a Harry Potter-esk feel, except with an eldritch horror familiar).
I wouldn't even classify it as a YA. It is YA but it doesn't exhibit any of the classic tropes usually found this genre!
There is so much action that you'll be engaged thoughout the entire book. So yeah once you start you may find that you can't put it down, repeating to yourself "Just 1 more chapter over and over!" LOLOL
So pick-up not only Blackmist but try the Morcster Chef as well and then you'll find yourself in the same boat! 😆

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KireSorg
  • KireSorg
  • 06-01-23

Horrible narration gets in the way of good story

It’s rare for me to abandon a book. I’m going to have to, here, only two hours in. The plot is pretty good so far, and I really want to keep going - but the narration is ruining the listening experience.

In case this gets to the author, here’s some specific feedback, as there’s really only one thing the narrator does that ruins the book:

Me makes EVERYTHING
So very DRAMATIC
That it makes me want to PUKE

It doesn’t matter what the protagonist is doing - struggling against a nameless horror, or walking over to look at someone - every action is presented with a sense of urgency and impending doom. It makes it hard to follow the plot, as you have no sense of the stakes in the moment.

This is among the three worst narration performances I’ve experienced in reading about 800 audiobooks.

PLEASE re-record this!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor
  • Trevor
  • 29-12-22

Just OK

I bought this book because it had an amazing first sentence, pretty much went down hill from there. A lot of neat ideas. No real danger or story structure. Characters could have used a little more development. The setting didn’t have much life to it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James mullins
  • James mullins
  • 30-11-22

The MC is a giant sissy.

so, a bookworm who does nothing but study for 4 years and doesn't do any physical activities knows nothing about magic....the thing he was studying to go to school for, has had multiple GFs but can't even talk to a girl without blushing and stuttering every other word. A 17 year old boy that is afraid to share a room with a pretty girl and can't even pick up 110 pounds without his legs shaking made me roll my eyes so many times. don't get me started on the narrator ending ever sentence like a question with whispering.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessica B.
  • Jessica B.
  • 04-01-23

Good world building

If you like Wizard of Earthsea and Naruto, you’ll enjoy this story - although the premise is familiar, the worldbuilding, including magic system, is great - I would like more depth of character, but the different tertiary cast and their abilities are entertaining - l Al probably looking forward to the next books in this series more than any other the author has penned

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JCL
  • JCL
  • 24-12-22

Interesting approach to this genre, want more.

I really enjoyed this book, and I'm hoping to listen to or read more of this story in future.

I quite liked the interplay between the two MC's who are kinda one, and I'm curious to find out more of what the author has planned for them.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Natalie
  • Natalie
  • 21-12-22

not enough substance

the majority of the story takes place during the first month of the school year. I don't care how many times the MC goes to the cafeteria to eat, the story doesn't need half a chapter detailing the walk down the street from one building to the next. the MC is driven to learn magic, and during the whole book he learns two spells. not a good listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anthony E Perkins
  • Anthony E Perkins
  • 14-12-22

Creepy kid and his evil companion

So this kid creeps around and whispers to himself while he has an evil companion. What could go wrong?

1 person found this helpful