Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The next thrilling Ham-Hill Murder Mystery from best-selling cosy crime author Frances Evesham.

A winning horse. A fierce rivalry. A sudden death.

Belinda Sandford thrills to the cheers of the crowd as her beautiful grey racehorse, ‘Butterfly Charm’, thunders past the finishing post first at Wincanton Racecourse. She feels like the luckiest girl in the world. 

But joy soon turns to despair as a stewards’ enquiry overturns the result and awards the race to her long-time rival, Alexandra Deacon. 

When Alex is found dead in suspicious circumstances, a host of accusing eyes turn to Belinda and her distraught mother begs Adam Hennessy, her neighbour, retired police officer and publican, to help clear her daughter’s name. 

As Adam,and local hotelier Imogen Bishop dig deep into the murky and powerful undercurrents of the horse racing world, they lay bare the lives and loves of local jockeys, grooms, trainers and owners. 

They soon uncover a web of secrets hidden within the spectacular Somerset countryside as they strive to find the killer in time to prevent more murders. 

A brand new cosy mystery series from the best-selling author of A Village Murder, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and M.C. Beaton.

©2021 Frances Evesham (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd

What listeners say about A Racing Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trite in the extreme and worse than predecessor

My review of the first in the series noted that it becomes very Enid Blyton, "'oh jolly dee, let's investigate that, whooppee doo, it's sooooo exciting"

In this we had a - no plot spoiler - female jockey who was a professional and a career girl, yet she seemed to do nothing other than whine like a 12-year-old and couldn't, as far as the threads of the story were concerned, metaphorically add one and one.

The standout nonsense was the co-key protagonist, Adam. We knew from the first book that he's from Birmingham and is fairly laid back and jolly, but incisively gently edgy, though quiet. This time he's nonsensically different. Louder, a little more in your face and zero hint of any Birmingham. It's like two entirely different characters.

On the grounds that the books were apparently recorded not very far apart and the narrator is the same, the difference is a farce.

There's a line between cosy and ludicrous. It's written and told as if it's aimed at someone of ten. Don't bother. It's a waste of your time.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Really Sure How To Review This…

This is an easy going Cozy Mystery, but despite its gentleness, there’s really no story, no deductive sleuthing and, quite frankly, no point to the whole concept of this series!

It seems strange to say this, but it’s an enjoyable book that doesn’t really live up to its labelling! (Even less so than book one).

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very exviting

A brilliant glimpse into the cutthroat world of horse racing. There is action packed suspense in every chapter. A must listen during the colder months.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring. Nothing like the first in the series.

The first book in this new series was free, and it is very good, I think, so on that basis I used a credit for this second book.

Though equally well read - CS is an excellent narrator - this plot was much slower, and maybe because it is set around the world of race horses and training yards which is of little interest to me, I found it very boring. I didn't care about the characters and the previous dynamic between Imogen and Adam wasn't featured as he has fallen in love (while we were away) with someone else who also isn't relevant.

Dull, and laboured. Sadly, a waste of a credit too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

I felt the first book in the series was very naive however I have thoroughly enjoyed the second book full of twists and Turns with excellent main characters can't wait for the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable second in series.

This is the second book set in Somerset and is a brilliant listen. More used to gritty crime novels, I really enjoyed the fact that yes, there are murders (!) but it isn’t graphic, no one swears, no sex & with characters who have come even more to life since the first book. The narrator is also perfect and I hope the author writes more in this series with Charlotte Strevens again doing a fabulous performance!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was a very enjoyable story

I really appreciate a solid cozy mystery story and this one was a definite winner for me. I love the characters and their relationships it's fun and light hearted there's a sweet dog, what more do you need. I liked the back drop of the story being horse racing. I don't live to far from Lingfield Race Track so I found it quite interesting. Charlotte Strevens is a wonderful narrator I have said this before and I enjoy her voice and rhythm of speaking. Some narrators get it wrong and it can feel unnatural. I can't wait to hear the next book I binged this one in three days.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

gentle story....

Not the best writing or narration in the world but A Racing Murder is gentle and you don't need to follow it too seriously.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love,d it

A wonderful old-fashioned detective novel with a glorious country background, Delightful characters including a memorable dog and a clever bloke with a good Chris at the end. I have been reading detective novels all my life and this took me right back to the golden age of Agatha Christie, Michael Innes and Edmund Crispin. I can best describe it as being back in Miss Matilda Country with a dash of Midsomer Murders added to bring us up-to-date.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Em
  • 13-12-21

A rather low-powered narrative...

...A not very gripping whodunnit with not very gripping characters (two donkeys excepted), so the perfect reading for people on holiday who like to read a chapter or two while stretched out on a deckchair or beside a swimming pool.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 05-11-21

Horrible Asian accent

Reader used a racist American Chinese sing song accent. Super offensive. The character was actually Thai and I would expect her to have more of a British accent.
The book was good though.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia S.
  • Cynthia S.
  • 04-10-21

Cozy and Satisfying

I am enjoying this author! If you like cozy mysteries, you will enjoy Frances Evesham’s books. I can’t wait for the next Ham Hill mystery. Guess I’ll have to wait until 2022. I love all of the characters, but I’m especially in love with Harley. Who can resist his big brown eyes?! Smiles. Thank you, Frances, for writing cozy mysteries with a twist.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N. J. Miin
  • N. J. Miin
  • 04-02-22

Captivating

I have enjoyed the story. The characters were just as likeable, with good plot at a good pace. I do agree with a previous reviewer regarding the narrator’s voice of an Asian character’s accent though - it just sounds too stereotype. However, the narrator did a good job in all others. I look forward to more books in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia
  • Cynthia
  • 21-06-22

love ❤️ it

a wonderful new series, I injoyed the first two , looking forward to next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for katnel
  • katnel
  • 09-02-22

Loved the book!

Enjoyed the story and characters immensely. The narrator really brought the story to life with her interpretation of each character. Recommend it highly.