Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Dr Nell Ward is an ecologist, not a detective. But when she's the prime suspect in a murder, only her unique set of skills could help to clear her name....

In the sleepy village of Cookingdean, Dr Nell Ward is busy working in the grounds of a local manor house. Whilst inspecting an old tunnel, she did not expect to overhear a murder. As the only person with any clues as to what happened, Nell soon finds herself in the middle of the investigation.

Desperate to clear her name Nell, along with her colleague Adam, set out solving the murder using their skills as ecologists to uncover details no one else would notice. But it soon becomes clear that playing Agatha Christie is much harder than it might, at first appear....

The start of an exciting new cosy crime series—perfect for fans of Richard Osman, Fiona Leitch, Faith Martin and The Appeal.

©2022 Sarah Yarwood-Lovett (P)2022 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about A Murder of Crows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

rarely have I ever cared so little about a book...

Am abandoning it after 2 hours because it's just leaving me cold. I find the narration of men's voices excruciating and the characters flimsy. I just couldn't get invested in it. Might work as a holiday read but not for me. sorry

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patty Says
  • Patty Says
  • 25-07-22

Terrific Book!

It been quite awhile since I have read a more enthralling book. The story is beyond strong. It takes many turns that are quite fun. I wouldn’t have been interested in a book about bats, but this completely changed my mind. It was just sewn into the story, among many other threads.
Great fun read and mystery.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25-08-22

Good story. great performance

I love the voice of the narrator. she did a really good job creating an individual and unique voice for each character

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ayshia S
  • Ayshia S
  • 28-09-22

Can’t wait for book 2!

Loved the story. I figured out fairly early on “who dun it”, but the twists did a great job of making me second guess myself. The Narrator did a wonderful job, and I found myself deeply invested in the story line.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Micah Barnes
  • Micah Barnes
  • 27-09-22

Minimal mystery characters and plot poor

The mystery was weak and not entertaining enough to captivate me. The majority of the story seemed to focus on a romance triangle. I’m not a huge fan of romance, but if it’s going to be there I prefer for the people to at least act their age. The characters are supposed to be in their 30s but they behaved like high schoolers playing games. It made the story irritating and I really can’t recommend.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zu-Zu
  • Zu-Zu
  • 05-09-22

Exciting 1st book in a mystery series

I was charmed by Nell Ward’s ecological survey work and what I learned about the long-eared golden bat. The afterward about the reality of this rare creature is the best ending for the book.
This is a well-paced first book by the author and i am eager to listen to a second. My only complaint is with the repetition of phrases like “her stomach churned” or someone”gaped” a few too many times.