Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • A Fatal Secret

  • Ryder and Loveday, Book 4
  • By: Faith Martin
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 8 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (98 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
A Fatal Secret cover art

A Fatal Secret

By: Faith Martin
Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Fatal Obsession cover art
A Fatal End cover art
The Vicarage Murder cover art
The Birthday Mystery cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
An English Garden Murder cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
The Museum Murder cover art
The Kensington Kidnap cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
Murder by the Minster cover art
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art
A Body in the Village Hall: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Murder Mystery cover art
A Date to Die For cover art

Summary

Don’t miss Faith Martin’s fiendishly clever new novel, Murder by Candlelight, set in the 1920s and described as ‘the perfect village mystery’ by J.M. Hall

‘The pairing of Ryder and Loveday is a stroke of genius.’ Clare Chase, author of the Eve Mallow and Tara Thorpe mysteries

Oxford, 1961. A family day out at Briar’s Hall ends in tragedy when a young boy goes missing – and his body is found at the bottom of a disused well in the orchard.

It looks like a simple case of an eleven-year-old exploring where he shouldn’t: a tragic accident. But Coroner Clement Ryder and Probationary WPC Trudy Loveday aren’t convinced. If Eddie had been climbing and fallen, why were there no cuts or dirt on his hands? Why would a boy terrified of heights be around a well at all?

Clement and Trudy are determined to get to the truth, but the more they dig into Briar’s Hall and the mysterious de Lacey family who live there, the murkier things become.

Could it be that poor Eddie’s death was murder? There are rumours of blackmail in the village, and Clement and Trudy have a horrible feeling that Eddie stumbled on a secret that someone was willing to kill for…

Fans of Richard Osman, Agatha Christie and Faith Martin’s DI Hillary Greene series will not want to miss this!

‘Absolutely loved it… The characters were some of the best I’ve read in a long time.’ Angela Marsons, no. 1 bestselling author of the Kim Stone series

The Ryder and Loveday Series
Book 1: A FATAL OBSESSION
Book 2: A FATAL MISTAKE
Book 3: A FATAL FLAW
Book 4: A FATAL SECRET
Book 5: A FATAL TRUTH
Book 6: A FATAL AFFAIR
Book 7: A FATAL NIGHT
Book 8: A FATAL END

©2019 Faith Martin (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about A Fatal Secret

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

As a retired female police officer who joined in 1974, so many of Trudy’s experiences ‘ring a loud bell’. I enjoy this series very much and have no problem with they way words are pronounced as some listeners do.
Very enjoyable - thank you
Debra

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Baffling Adventure

I love these stories they are easy listening and I look forward to reading the next adventure.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story ... but irritating narrator

These are good stories, is a bit silly at times but rather spoilt by some of the strange pronunciation of the narrator which, once noticed, grates on the ear. For example, police carry a truncheon, with the ch pronounced as in church. The narrator persistently says 'trunjun'...spoils an otherwise enjoyable story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Review of A Fatal Secret

A nice light read set in a more innocent time. Really enjoyable thank you and keep writing

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lovely set of stories

Nice crime stories set in the 60’s but with modern day sensitivity which doesn’t fit well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Completely Gripping, Great story line,
Best in the series!
Highly recommend this book
Stephanie Racine is such a good narrator

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another wonderful story

I'm really enjoying this Ryder & Loveday series. The characters are so complex and the stories are so artfully detailed.
Each story is fabulous in it's own right but to be fully understood and appreciated it is best to start with book 1 and progress from there.
I'm off to download the fifth and final (so far) book now.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent listen

Faith Martin has excelled herself with this read, she has played out the story in a true who dunnit leaving me guessing till the end, she has also maintained the social story taking you forward in the daily lives of the character's.
Desperate for the next listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!