The Forsyte Chronicles

19 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 358 ratings

The Forsyte Chronicles, Vol. 1: The Forsyte Saga Summary

John Galsworthy's magnificent trilogy of power and passion chronicles the wealthy Forsyte family. As the disintegrating values of the Victorian era progress to World War I and the political uncertainty of the 1930s, the family's material and emotional struggles are set within the dwindling status of the affluent middle-classes. 

Infused with warmth, compassion and engaging characters, the complete chronicles are divided into three volumes, containing nine books and four interludes in total. In Volume One, The Forsyte Saga, Soames Forsyte - the "man of property" - is desperate to uphold values and conventions that are becoming out of step with the time. His most prized possession is his strikingly beautiful wife, Irene, but she is profoundly unhappy; the bitterness only builds, and the events that follow are set to ripple through the next generation of Forsytes. 

This Forsyte trilogy contains book one: The Man of Property, Interlude: Indian Summer of a Forsyte; book two: In Chancery, Interlude: Awakening; and book three: To Let.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio. 

Public Domain (P)2020 Naxos Audiobooks
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.