Seasons Quartet

4 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 26 ratings

Rites of Spring Summary

Perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Yrsa Sigurdardottir, Rites of Spring is Scandi-crime at its best from a master storyteller.

Southern Sweden: beautiful countryside, endless forests, coastal walks, dark days - and even darker nights. But beneath the beauty lies a dark heart....

Skåne, 1986: on the night of Walpurgis, the eve of May Day, where bonfires are lit to ward off evil spirits and preparations are made to celebrate the renewal of spring, a 16-year-old girl is ritualistically murdered in the woods beside a castle. Her stepbrother is convicted of the terrible deed, and shortly after, the entire family vanishes without a trace. 

Spring, 2019: Dr Thea Lind moves into the castle. After making a strange discovery in an ancient oak tree on the grounds, her fascination with the old tragedy deepens. As she uncovers more and more similarities between her own troubled past and the murdered girl, she begins to believe that the real truth of the killing was never uncovered. 

What if the spring of 1986 claimed more than one victim?

Rites of Spring was a number-one best seller in its native Swedish on publication in March 2020.

©2021 Anders de la Motte (P)2021 Bonnier Books Ltd
Show More Show Less
<span style=\Not an Audible member?" title="Not an Audible member?" />
Not an Audible member?
From £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.