Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £25.99

Buy Now for £25.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. 

Two friends. Ten summer trips. Their last chance to fall in love.

Twelve summers ago: Poppy and Alex meet. They hate each other and are pretty confident they'll never speak again.

Eleven summers ago: they're forced to share a ride home from college, and by the end of it, a friendship is formed. And a pact: every year, one vacation together.

Ten summers ago: Alex discovers his fear of flying on the way to Vancouver. Poppy holds his hand the whole way.

Seven summers ago: they get far too drunk and narrowly avoid getting matching tattoos in New Orleans.

Two summers ago: it all goes wrong.

This summer: Poppy asks Alex to join her on one last trip. A trip that will determine the rest of their lives.

You and Me on Vacation is a love story for fans of When Harry Met Sally and One Day. Get ready to travel the world, snort with laughter and - most of all - lose your heart to Poppy and Alex.

©2021 Emily Henry (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"A gorgeous romance." (Beth O'Leary)

"The perfect getaway." (Jodi Picoult)

What listeners say about You and Me on Vacation

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable

It’s quite obvious from the first chapter how this is going to end. Then there’s a lot of chapters where they travel and not very much happens, and then the exact thing you think will happen, happens. And you just feel like, omg, took you long enough. There is no plot twist, no dramatic turn of events, and what happened in Croatia was a bit of an anti climax with all the build up.

Some things in the book don’t add up for me. It doesn’t feel realistic that they know each other for so long and are so obviously into each other without pursuing it, for years. Also, I have a hard time understanding Alex, his character feels inconsistent somehow. One minute he hates pretty much anything fun, like theme parties, then the next he likes karaoke and dancing in the street. I don’t know, I just couldn’t picture this person.

Another thing that annoyed me was the incessant quirkiness of the dialogue and the cutesy-ness of the narration. Like 95% of their communication was “witty” banter. It was a bit too much.

It’s ok for light entertainment, it’s inoffensive and “nice”, but a bit simple and slow. I don’t think I would have finished it if it wasn’t for a book club.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Boring

I fell for the hype and was disappointed. The flashbacks are annoying, but the worst is the complete lack of tension between the two.
Way too long to be this boring

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Actual tension, passion and love

I won’t go into too much detail because the overall review is: you should read it yourself. As someone who is always trying to find good romcom type books or movies, this one is really lovely because the characters truly feel real, not rude or mean but characters who seem like real people and the man in the story isn’t just the same old “perfect in every way, why can’t she just see it” type but with no personality. I fell in love with the characters and their story. I hope you will too.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

So glad it worked out.

I found it very easy to listen to apart from when I didnt think they were gonna make it. Happy it ended as it did and I enjoyed the back and forth summers to find out the history of their friendship.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great listen read by my favorite reader

Loved the humor, but could easily guess the ending ever since the first chapter

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth the hype

I saw so many reviews of this book on bookstagram and it is well worth the hype! I fell in love with the characters immediately and I was so impressed to find it genuinely funny. There are lots of laugh out loud moments and ridiculous situations the pair find themselves in. It's a perfect book for the middle of winter as you can escape to New Orleans, Palm Springs and Dubrovnik from cold and gloomy UK!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too predictable

Struggled to get Into this book. So cliché and not much happened to grip me. I knew how it would end so wasn't gripped to read more. There wasn't much detail in the travel aspect which could have gone alot deeper.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t stop listening!!

Loved this - really looking forward to checking out more of her work too. Great story between poppy and Alex

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fun and sweet

A really enjoyable and easy listen, everything you want on a romantic novel. A bit predictable but not entirely transparent. Performance was great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Feel good fun for the summer

I want to bottle up the feeling this book gave me and carry it round with me, ready to open when I need a little positivity in my life. Characters are just so well done and so believable, don’t think I’ve rooted for a pair so much in my life!