Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Whispers of a Scandal cover art

Whispers of a Scandal

By: Julie Corbin
Narrated by: Coral Sinclair,Rebecca Trehearn,Sarah Durham
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Who knows your darkest secret?

After every parents' evening, friends Nina, Bel and Rachel look forward to their regular debrief at the pub. But there will be no clinking Prosecco tonight.

They are discussing an anonymous note that has been left in a child's schoolbag: this class has secrets. All the parents tell lies.

As more notes are discovered, scandalous accusations are made and the school playground becomes rife with rumours.

Who could be revealing the three friends' secrets? Because they thought the only people who knew everything about them were each other....

An addictive psychological suspense thriller full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of Heidi Perks, Lisa Hall and Jane Corry.

©2021 Julie Corbin (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about Whispers of a Scandal

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Kept me listening

Good story once I got into it, didn't think it was for me at first, but carried on! it's not really gripping but had a few good twists.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator not perfect but great story!!

Would thoroughly recommend this book. Its a little slow to begin with but has several twists and turns. Narrator not perfect but I still enjoyed it. I'm working my way through Julie's books and am a little biased (and proud) as she happens to be my cousin. Her Father and My Father were brothers, sadly both passed away in 2008. Your Dad would be immensely proud Julie. Keep up the good work.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 25-10-21

Nothing happens… nothing

But the author does get to shame women who have had abortions. And of course the woman can’t get pregnant because she terminated a pregnancy years ago. That’s so incredibly rare…. But boy howdy do authors love using it. Oh yeah and hubs is such a religious jerk if he finds it he will walk out on her and his family!
Wow just wow… agenda much? Most of the book is devoted to the abortion of of one of the moms. that’s the “ secret” that everyone flips out about. So many inaccurate things unlikely things…furthermore the last thing you do when you get a note threatening a secret is CALL A MEETING AND TALK ABOUT IT. lol. This made actually made me lol. What a stupid ridiculous book that I spent money I shouldn’t have. No more returns from audible either. Geez . Take a hard pass . Oh another weak pathetic protagonist married to psycho but won’t leave… she’s the bread winner too! What is up with weak women? Stop it!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tawny
  • Tawny
  • 23-10-21

Whispers of a Bestseller

Perfectly matched narrators, unique plot, unexpected twists…. This quietly entertaining story with just the right balance of light and darkness has it all 👏.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 13-11-21

so so good

Great story,great character development. The youngest girl was my fav!
Always knew who was talking and what was happening. Nice suburban mystery about a group of mom friends.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Damzlfly
  • Damzlfly
  • 24-10-21

Nice, light listen/read

Nice story, well told. The reader rightly suspects so many characters of the various misdeeds committed throughout the novel. In the end, characters stay true to form, which is a relief. There is nothing worse than a deus ex machina moment when it pertains to a character in a mystery.

Along those lines, I did take issue with a main character- Nina - who is a lawyer specializing in corporate acquisitions, mergers, etc. who, with a single partner, built an extremely successful and lucrative practice. She is the sort of person one imagines to be highly intelligent, with a track record of smart decisions. At least one of the characters even remarks on Nina's capacity for cool focus. Even so, she makes one emotion-driven, ludicrously stupid mistake after another, especially in connection to legal matters. This becomes frustrating to witness.

On another note, whilst children's characters are usually charmingly depicted, Poppy's voice made me want to beg for admittance into a senior living community. The annoying whine was likely intentional , and that particular voice actor performed all too well, if that was the case. Otherwise, I was enthralled by the performances.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-09-22

Lil bit “Rah-DIC-ulous” but YAS

Good, absurdly dramatic, not very substantial, kind of trashy, Rachel sux (this is not a spoiler), decent mystery! YAS FOR THE TWISTS!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Art_Sasha
  • Art_Sasha
  • 13-06-22

Great Mystery Novel

Keeps you on your toes. I loved it. If you are looking for a mystery- then look no more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karla porras
  • Karla porras
  • 10-05-22

Great Story

This was a great story. Characters were like able. And it kept you guessing until the end. The voice of Poppy was incredibly annoying. I had to fast forward through some of her talking.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrsny Household
  • Mrsny Household
  • 30-04-22

Whispers

This was my most favorite book. The story line, the individual friends, the plot, all of it held my attention to the end. I appreciated the narration as well as the book! Thank you so much for this amazing read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole M
  • Nicole M
  • 05-02-22

Loved every minute

The story unfolded gently while every detail entertained and swept you up into the lives of these women and their families. I highly recommend. I found the cadence of this story unique and easy to listen to. The narration was perfection.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ultramega
  • ultramega
  • 22-01-22

A REAL Slow Start BUT an Unexpected Twist

This book was hard to listen to until about chapter 20…couldn’t return it, so it was my burden to bear. However, twist after twist after twist made up for the painful beginning.