Listen free for 30 days

  • Whip Crack

  • DCI Kett Crime Thrillers, Book 4
  • By: Alex Smith
  • Narrated by: Tim Bruce
  • Length: 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (72 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Every time you hear his voice, another child will die.

DCI Robert Kett’s family may be whole again, but he is a broken man. 

Suspended from duty, he takes his girls out of the city for a much-needed holiday on the Norfolk Coast.

Instead of the peace he desperately needs, however, Kett finds a community in chaos. Four teenagers are missing, and time is running out before they meet a horrific fate. 

Kett must follow a deadly trail of clues left by the man who took them, the only person who knows where they are. 

There’s only one problem. 

The kidnapper is already dead.

The most gripping installment yet in one of the hottest new crime series of the year, perfect for fans of JD Kirk, LJ Ross, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin.

Alex Smith wrote his first book when he was six. It wasn’t particularly good, but it did have some supernatural monsters in it. His latest books, the DCI Robert Kett thrillers, have monsters in them too, although these monsters are very human, and all the more terrifying for it. 

In between, he has published 12 novels for children and teenagers under his full name, Alexander Gordon Smith - including the number one best-selling series Escape from Furnace, which is loved by millions worldwide and is soon to become a motion picture. He lives in Norwich with his wife and three young daughters.

©2020 Alex Smith (P)2022 Alex Smith

More from the same

What listeners say about Whip Crack

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant work

These books are quite astonishing, the more the merrier. Also 10 out of 10 for the narrator. Can't wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great read. Personally horrific!

Loved this book. It brought home to me how fragile humans can be, that they get drawn into situations out with their control. It is a perfect example of being manipulated. However I have to say I love the characters and the way the story moves so well, almost in real time. If I have any negative feelings towards the story it would be to do with children, and the over indulgent use of the word poo!
The narration was excellent, the way Tim Bruce used tone, pace and believability. Even with the female parts. I'll watch out for him narrating other books.
My title is a bit strange but it is no criticism of the book or the author. Quite the opposite.
The story gave me shivers. I saw parallels to my teens. This made Whip Crack awaken memories. I'll explain. No need to read on unless you want to.

I grew up in a beautiful,idyllic village. When it was still a village, no additional buildings. You knew everyone behind each door. It is full of wonder and places to play, if you are under 10, but not in your teens. You get bored You still hang around together and the adults love the way you've grow up together. Then one day everything changes, and you find yourself becoming involved in things you are not mature enough to handle. I should write the book. lol.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant series

Am so enjoying these books each one has an unusual story and solving the puzzles keeps me on the edge of my seat. Narration spot on too. Cannot praise enough roll on the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

I am getting hooked on these books, can't wait to get into the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

Can’t wait for the next one. Lovely new detective series. Had to chuckle occasionally. But really good plots and characters. And great narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic.

Another brilliant book from Alex Smith and Tim Bruce's narration is first class as always.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patti
  • Patti
  • 10-09-22

Not Enough

I have listened to every book with DCI Kitt. Yes at first the kids seem annoying, but then they are kids and you get use to them they make up so much of it the books. I cannot continue unless the books are audible. If I can't listen then I miss so much, narration is a big part of making this series special. Children are so often part of real mysteries life offers, just reading doesn't capture the attention like hearing a child's voice. Please Mr. Smith continue narration with this series. I truly applaud all the narrator's.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Schwind
  • Cindy Schwind
  • 06-09-22

Great series!

I have loved this series! The relationships between Robbie and his family as well as the bonds between him and his work colleagues just add to the suspenseful story lines. His daughters are hilarious- nice amount of comic relief! Can’t wait until the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Edlover
  • Edlover
  • 13-08-22

Phenomenal Seriea!

DCI Kett and his Band of Brothers continue a winning streak! He has the heart of a true policeman and does his best to get his man (or woman). I especially enjoy the description of the areas of England he finds himself working in. I was jealous of a certain appliance mentioned at the end, as I have been searching far and wide for one with no success. You'll have to read the story to see what it is:) Can't wait for the next read!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jolene
  • Jolene
  • 20-03-22

3.5 stars for Whip Crack, all previous 5 stars

I love this series. The character development of Kett and his love for his family are told beautifully. Same with his partners, his wife and girls. There's mystery, humor ("I've got to have a poo, Daddy!"), and interesting twists. The villain in the last book—just the idea of him of him filled me with dread. Evil, disgusting, hateful,and definitely different. All of Smith's antagonists have been.

I love that the Kett's police colleagues refrain from constant profanity, cleverly disguised by their adopting Kett's "budge-offs" and "fudging" as a ploy to protect his toddler Moira's ears while having to be in tow his first few days.

I only did 3 stars, 3.5 actually, because the story was so bleak, the idea of teenagers doing what they did out of total boredom. As a Christian, that was hard for me to stomach.
Also, because after all Kett had been through, it seemed like his self-harm, allowing himself to be beat up so badly when he had so much to look forward to, seemed a little too hard to believe, even after the last book (5 stars from me).

Still, Alex Smith has an amazing talent, and I look forward to his next DCI Kett book. Would love to see something involving the daughter's autism. Or, family PTSD recovery, maybe with EMDR. But I shudder over what s coming!

As far as the narrator is concerned, Tim Bruce's is perfect. One of the best I've heard. Right up there with Roy Porter, David Thorpe, Luke Daniels, Zach Villa and Gildart Jackson.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 24-01-22

5

The publisher's blurb lured me into trying out this one. It is so well plotted and written that time flew by as I listened. The narrator does such a fine job! Worth a credit :-)