Listen free for 30 days

  • When Darkness Calls

  • Holly Wakefield, Book 1
  • By: Mark Griffin
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 11 hrs and 24 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (160 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When Darkness Calls is the first in a crime thriller series starring forensic psychologist Holly Wakefield. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV crime series Luther and Strike

Do you dare to look into the eye of a serial killer?

Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself. 

When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon. 

Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past....

A gripping thriller set in London, featuring a criminal psychologist who specialises in hunting serial killers and has hidden reasons for being unnervingly good at her job....

©2019 Mark Griffin (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about When Darkness Calls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

100% recommended

This was a totally absorbing and highly rewarding story about a profiler with a secret or two, a series of brutal crimes stretching back futher than anyone could have known and a startling finale.

Tamsin Kennard narrated it beautifully, she is fast becoming one of my favourite narrators.

I wholeheartedly recommend this title and am hoping there will be a book 2 about Holly in the near future.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Right up my street if you like psychological killers you’ll love this one, more damaged souls to get to know!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

A really great start to this new series. Holly Wakefield and DI Bishop make a good team. I love the insights into The criminal mind, really looking forward to book 2.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good listen

This is the first book that introduces Holly Wakefield, criminal psychologist who goes to work for the Metropolitan Police.

There are a number of twists but some things were obvious, hence 4 stars.

I am looking forward to book 2 and what might turn into a brilliant series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid thriller with nice twists and turns

As the review title says. This is a well-crafted thriller and has been something I've enjoyed having accompany me in the car as I run errands - I may have occasionally sat in the car for longer than was necessary just to finish a chapter, which is a good sign here. There are the inevitable occasional mispronunciations that irritate me about most audiobooks, but for the most part this is well-performed and enjoyable to listen to.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

What a brilliant book, full of twists and drama.
I loved every minute of it and now cannot wait to listen to book two.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book

I love the book...I have read the paperback and wanted to listen to the audio book version but I have to say I wish they had picked someone else to read it as I don't feel that the lady does the book justice sadly

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Gave up

I got to chapter 10 and gave up. unfortunately this book couldn't keep my attention. It was just too slow moving for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant bookn & narrative reading

Another 1 for my top 10. loved the characters and the story is darkly unpredictably. Patricia Welsh

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly Molly brilliant !!

Wow .. I wasn’t too sure if I would like this book , with the main lead female not actually being a detective , but it gave a fascinating insight to what these peopje do when evaluating those criminals .. niw to start the next book and cannot wait

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-01-20

Good but...

It was good but predictable. Cant say I was too surprised by the mystery of it all, if anything it was all out there to be seen. I like the main characters but I'm not in love with how the book played out, it was a great plot executed poorly.