Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Tick Tock cover art

Tick Tock

By: Mel Sherratt
Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The race is on....

When a teenage girl is strangled while out for a run with her friends, it shakes the city of Stoke to its core. Why would anyone want to hurt a child? And who would have the audacity to murder in broad daylight?

DS Grace Allendale and her team are brought in to bring a swift resolution, but investigating the case brings up no leads. It is as if the killer chose the girl at random and then disappeared. And then another young woman is found dead....

A killer without fear and no pattern except random acts of violence: can Grace stop another girl getting hurt before it’s too late?

The unforgettable new thriller from best-selling Mel Sherratt. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Cara Hunter.

©2018 Mel Sherratt (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Tick Tock

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Became disappointing!

I quite enjoyed the first 2/3rds of this book, despite the author playing fast and loose with Police procedure and the over-writing (e.g. coppers do not use words like ‘proclaimed’ or ‘angst’ during the general course of a shift). However, by 2/3rds of the way in, I became a bit bored, not helped by the narrator being inappropriate for a modern detective novel. The quality of the narration is excellent, but the narrator’s voice is entirely wrong, being rather delegate and soft.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Average story made intolerable by poor narrator.

The storyline is fairly easy listening but lackluster, quite a ridiculous motive. What completely ruined it for me was the lazy narration, T-glottalization I think it's called. The odd thing was it is during the narration, not the conversations. There's no real end either, more of a cliffhanger, or in this case gentle slope hanger. I wouldn't recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Awful

Without doubt the most boring full pan delivery of a poor story zzzz not recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing!

This is the first book I have read by this author, I only chose it as it is set in Stoke on Trent, my hometown. I found it irritating that the narrator mispronounced local places that I know so well. To be honest, I didn't think the narrator did the story any favours with her dialect not being at all like a Stokie accent so, for me, it was not believable. I also thought that the story was very average and not very gripping at all. I am disappointed as I expected a bit more from the author, a fellow Stokie! Maybe other readers will enjoy it if they don't come from Stoke!Sorry.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dreadful

Couldn’t finish this one, wasn’t able to connect with story or characters.

The narrators voice isn’t suited to crime. I’ve heard her narrate romance and her voice works beautifully.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Wouldn't waste a full credit on this!

Paid £3 and it has passed a few hours whilst painting but that's about it. A highly contrived and not very credible plot, paying little regard to even a basic knowledge of real life Police procedures and practices. Also how unlikely is it that an individual investigator would have so many personal links to the various perpetrators and victims? I know this book and others by the same author have lots of very positive reviews but I won't be tempted to try another one, it just wasn't for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book

Fab book until it got to the end.
Where's the rest of the story!?
Mel and Colleen did a fab job but I wish the ending had been better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

TOTALLY ADDICTIVE STORY

I have to admit that I didn’t read this book and that I ended up listening to it on audio whilst on holiday a month ago.

The narrator has done a brilliant job of bringing the characters to life has we follow DS Grace Allendale on a case that will keep you hooked from start to finish.

This is the second book in the series and I am happy to report that it can be read has a standalone. Set in Stoke,the story starts off with an OMG start when a teenage girl is murdered in broad daylight crikey the author knows how to keep your attention.

Two days later another body is found……has the plot thickens. Having no idea who the killer is can Grace catch the killer before it happens again?!

I loved how the chapters in this story told by a person who the reader or in my case the listener has no idea who it is……talk about intriguing.

One of the things that I love about Mel’s books are the characters, They are believable, and you can always relate to them Grace is without a doubt another one of those characters.

Tick Tock will certainly keep you on your toes, with plenty of twists and turns . I was totally addictive to this story, now I am left waiting for for book three.