Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Unwelcome Guest cover art

The Unwelcome Guest

By: Amanda Robson
Narrated by: John Hopkins,Claire Vousden,Olivia Mace,Natalie Beran,Thomas Delacourt
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

She had the perfect marriage. Until her mother-in-law moved in....

Saffron vowed to love Miles no matter what life threw at them both. But when her mother-in-law moves into their happy family home, Saffron’s shiny life begins to tarnish.

Even as Caprice’s barbed comments turn to something more sinister, Saffron hopes the new nanny’s arrival will shield her from the worst of it. She’s starting to feel paranoid in her own home.

Little does she realise that Caprice longs for a new daughter-in-law—and she’ll do anything to make that happen....

The new gripping domestic thriller from the number one best-selling author, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Louise Candlish. 

©2021 Amanda Robson (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Unwelcome Guest

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ERRRRR?!

As I progressed through the first 90 chapters I thought, this must be one of the worst book I have ever listened to, and no matter how many narraters, nothing could save it. Yes it is that bad. Then, miraculously it starts picking up - a little. The characters don't get any better (or some of the accents), but the storyline eventually appears. And it's not bad, but not good enough to make it more than average. Disappointing, as I have read almost all of Amanda Robson's books and enjoyed most of them, but after this one, I don't think so.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very different kind of story

Really enjoyed this book, lots of twists and turns to keep the reader interested
Didn’t find any of the characters likeable, perhaps that was what the author wanted and did find the end slightly rushed with 95% of the book seeming to be just build up.
but overall this makes me want to read more of Robson’s work