Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You think you’re safe in your home. You’re wrong.

Ever since Steph’s husband walked out after a 30-year marriage, home hasn’t felt like a safe haven. Her daughter, Bea, thinks she’s imagining things. But Steph knows that the noises in the night, the open windows she knows she left closed, the strange smell in the kitchen - none of it feels right.

Then her house is broken into, and a young man named Noah helps her fix the front window. He’s fallen on hard times and Steph impulsively offers him a place to stay. At least if he is there, she won’t be home alone.

Before long Noah is living in Bea’s old bedroom, paying rent, and getting his life back on track. Steph’s ex-husband and Bea are furious. But Steph feels secure at last.

Until the strange things start happening once more.

Until it becomes clear someone will stop at nothing to make her never, ever feel safe again.

The most twisty thriller of the year - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards, and Gone Girl.

Listeners are loving The Guest Room:

"OMG, you always know that you are starting on one hell of an emotional roller coaster ride whenever you start reading one of Rona Halsall’s incredible thrillers and The Guest Room is no exception.... Addictive.... Once I started, I couldn’t put down and simply had to read in one sitting.... Very very highly recommended and definitely one of my favourite reads of this year." (Nicki’s Life of Crime)

©2022 Rona Halsall (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Guest Room

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Oh dear

Far from as good as some of Rona Halsall's books. Starts and ends with an unbelievably weak main character (I found her really annoying). Much of the book really seems to drag on and then of course in the last quarter it finally gets somewhere. 2 star at best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!!😁👏🏽🤗

Love Rona Halsall. I always enjoy her books and they ALWAYS have twists/turns which shock you! This one was the same🤗😁I couldn’t stop listening, it has you hooked from start to finish. I couldn’t stop till I found out all the answers and i love when that happens 🤗😁thouroughly enjoyed this and im gutted it’s finished 😩☹️ Emma Gregory was OUTSTANDING! She done so many different voices SO brilliantly!!! She is one narrator I remember well because she reads perfectly! Thank you Rona, Thank you Emma, and thank you audible for another AMAZING book!!!👏🏽keep them coming Rona🤗🙏🏽😊♥️xxx

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

A very well narrated novel! Thoroughly enjoyable & didn't want it to end!
A bit shocked to learn that the nail character Steph was only 55 though! That's my age & I hope I don't sound about 70!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unsettling goings on!

Nice cosy start to this book but soon starts to become a bit unsettling. Lots of twists and turns and a few red herrings chucked in to keep you guessing. Narrator did a nice job of most of the characters although the daughters competing voice was itrritsting . I liked that there were no loose ends left flapping in the breeze.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laken
  • Laken
  • 27-02-22

Meh

I’m glad this was a short listen. It was just ok. Also, the review about the daughter sounding like Minnie Mouse ruined it for me bc I could not un-hear that once she started talking 🤣

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon customer
  • Amazon customer
  • 10-02-22

The narration destroyed it

The voice of the main character's adult daughter sounded exactly like Minnie Mouse in a Disney cartoon. It was unbearable to listen to it. Although it was also highly amusing in tiny doses. Ruined the entire experience of this book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 03-02-22

Very Good!

NO SPOILERS!!! I took a chance on this one even though it had no reviews and I’m glad I did. The story is interesting. I listen to 100s of psychological thrillers and it’s hard to surprise me. This book however kept me guessing and was a pleasant surprise. Unfortunately I binged it in a day, but now I’ll definitely check out her other books.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen B. Jinks
  • Karen B. Jinks
  • 16-07-22

Hmmm …

The story was great. Worth a credit. But the narrator’s rendition of the daughter’s voice was like nails on a blackboard … fork scraping on a dinner plate … screechingly nerve wracking. (Is “screechingly” a word?) ha!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amber
  • Amber
  • 07-07-22

What did I just listened to

The storyline wasn’t awful but the main character was very annoying. She was always letting everyone tell her what to do/ how to think. I’m not sure if that was the worst part or the daughters squeaky Minnie Mouse voice. I’m glad it’s over that’s for sure.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy Cogburn
  • Kathy Cogburn
  • 21-06-22

Irritating.

You can’t believe anyone could be this gullible. Steph wasn’t believable cause no one would act the way she did.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda L.
  • Linda L.
  • 14-06-22

Great twist ending

This story had a great twist ending. One twist at the end I guessed, but who was behind the troubles Steph was having was a surprise. It did become obvious to me before Steph caught on in the story. I liked the way the story wrapped up in the end with Steph, her family and Noah. It was nice to see Steph get answers and be able to keep her new found independence.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sj
  • sj
  • 23-05-22

Annoying woman narrator.

The main character was so unlikeable, completely ridiculous in her inability to manage little day to day tasks. Her family treats her like a child, but the absolute worst thing about this book is the narrator. I don’t understand how anyone could have thought the breathy Minnie Mouse voice she used for the daughter was a good idea. I’m returning this book based solely on the terrible narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 29-04-22

Wow

I was concerned I couldn't get through with the narrator but she did give a good performance. I did not see that coming. I would recommend this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vikki
  • Vikki
  • 22-03-22

That daughter’s voice

Great storyline and good characters. It was the daughter Bea’s narration. It was nails on chalkboard. Scratchy, high pitched old woman’s voice. .