Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the best-selling author of The Slum Angel.

After losing her father, Thea Goodson is alone in the world.

She has a husband. But Ernie is a brutal man who uses his fists to keep Thea in line.

And besides, Ernie Goodson has secrets – secrets that even his wife cannot share.

And yet in Victorian Yorkshire, appearances are everything - and they must be maintained whatever the cost.

Thea has no choice but to cover up her bruises with powder and keep a forced smile on her face while she looks after Ernie’s home and tobacco shop.

There seems to be no other option.

That is, until a handsome and well-bred stranger arrives to set up shop next door...

Can Thea escape her miserable marriage and break from the conventions of society? Or will the clutches of her abusive husband confine her forever?

The Tobacconist’s Wife is the latest book from AnneMarie Brear, the highly acclaimed author of best-selling The Slum Angel. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court, and Rosie Goodwin.

©2020 Lume Books (P)2022 Lume Books

What listeners say about The Tobacconist's Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Another brilliant story written by AnneMarie Brear and read by Zoe Littleton. I didn’t want it to end and do hope that there will be a sequel to tell what happens to Adam and Thea.