Listen free for 30 days

  • The Thirteenth Man

  • By: J. L. Doty
  • Narrated by: Austin Rising
  • Length: 14 hrs and 17 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Thirteenth Man cover art

The Thirteenth Man

By: J. L. Doty
Narrated by: Austin Rising
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £19.29

Buy Now for £19.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the author of the Treasons Cycle, the Gods Within, and the Dead Among Us series comes a standalone science fiction novel for fans of David Weber, Pierce Brown, Lois McMaster Bujold, and more! Spanning the galaxy, The Thirteenth Man blends the best traditions of space opera and military sci-fi into a nonstop adventure that's as much Patrick O'Brien as it is John Scalzi.

When Commander Charlie Cass, the bastard son of the Duke de Maris, returns from five years in a squalid Syndonese POW camp, he finds that little has changed in the Realm. As always, the King and the nine Dukes are conspiring against each other, but now some of them are plotting with Charlie's old enemy. And as interstellar war looms, they certainly don't need Charlie Cass messing up their delicate plans.

Unfortunately for them, that's what he's best at.

With ingenuity, tactical innovations, and just a little bit of luck, Cass might be able to not only save the Realm, but perhaps even change it for the better.

Which, of course, means he'll likely face the headsman's axe.

©2016 J. L. Doty (P)2020 Tantor

What listeners say about The Thirteenth Man

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for @tone0189
  • @tone0189
  • 06-03-20

Great story interrupted by teenage romance!

The Thirteenth Man is a great story with political and military intrigue.

The women in this particular book, though, are poorly written and the relationship between the MC & the princess comes across like two teenagers awkwardly fumbling about. Making some parts hard to listen to!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HaydenW
  • HaydenW
  • 04-03-20

About time!!

I’ve been hounding Mr.Doty for at least two years to have this made into an audiobook. Needless to say Austin nailed it. This is one of my favorite books. You won’t be disappointed.