Listen free for 30 days

  • The Taken Ones

  • A totally gripping crime and mystery thriller (Detective Mackenzie Price Book 4)
  • By: Ruhi Choudhary
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 10 hrs and 45 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You have two days to kill her, or you will be the next to die….

A week ago the body of a young woman named Mia Gallagher was found in an elevator shaft, 48 hours after she was snatched from her apartment in Lakemore, Washington.

When a local man confesses to her killing in his suicide note, the police department believe the case is closed. But then another woman goes missing, and 48 hours later is found dead. Detective Mackenzie Price is convinced their deaths are connected. Then she finds a letter in the supposed murderer’s house and realizes the sickening truth: the victims are all part of a sinister game, and more lives are at stake.

Someone wants these women dead — but isn’t killing them. Instead they are blackmailing others to do their dirty work: Become a murderer, or be the next to die.

When a third woman goes missing, Mack and her partner Detective Nick Blackwood know they have just 48 hours to find her alive. Only by hunting down the blackmailer, who’s masterminding this twisted game, will they be able to stop the killings.

But the blackmailer will go to any lengths to get away with murder, and now no one connected to the case is safe. Including Mack. She has spent years healing from her troubled past, learning to open her heart again but — as one of the people closest to her is sucked into the game — could she be about to lose another person she loves?

A pulse-pounding thriller packed with twists. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Karin Slaughter and Angela Marsons.

Listeners can’t get enough of Ruhi Choudhary:

“Wow, wow just wow!… Had me hook, line and sinker from the start and kept me on the edge of my seat as well as up at night.... Completely left me speechless and sitting there with my mouth hanging open.... Cliffhanger much!” (Bookworm 86)

“Started with a bang, ended with a bang!… Loved it!… Kept me captivated from page one… I wasn’t able to put down the book. I just yearned for more and more. Sadly, even this book had to end, but kaboom, what an ending!” (Tove Reads, 5 stars)

“A rollercoaster of emotions, a thrilling and gripping story that kept me on the edge… Heartbreaking at times but always highly entertaining.” (Scrapping & Playing, 5 stars)

©2022 Ruhi Choudhary (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Taken Ones

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Gripping story, engaging characters and excellent narration. I’m looking forward to the next episode already.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. R.
  • J. R.
  • 10-05-22

Boring

The story is stagnant! Doesn’t keep your attention so my mind wandered. Was hard to get through.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Breta
  • Breta
  • 09-05-22

Great series

I enjoy this series although I do feel like the cases conveniently get wrapped up at the end of each book. I'm curious to see if the writer will incorporate a love interest for the leading lady...like her partner or Austin. The narration is good too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for donna Clark
  • donna Clark
  • 02-04-22

Amazing Series

This is an amazing series and I can’t wait for the next book to come out

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Darren Smith
  • Darren Smith
  • 16-02-22

A good listen

The story was good but slow moving at first. The difference in voices was hard to distinguish at times.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for scrappy doo
  • scrappy doo
  • 05-02-22

Just ok

It truly was not horrible but definitely not great. So in my world that equals just ok.