Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

"They’re lying," my little stepson whispers, his blue eyes shining with tears as I tuck him into bed for the first time. "They think I’ve forgotten, but I remember everything. I know my mummy is still alive."

My best friend warned me that it was too soon to marry Edward, a widower with an adorable but troubled little boy. She said we were moving too fast. But all I could see was a kind, loving man, struggling with grief, who needed my help.

Yet as storm clouds gather above our small wedding ceremony, my hopes and dreams fall apart. None of my husband’s family turns up to support us. Instead of a honeymoon, we have a quiet night in. My wedding bouquet is placed on his first wife’s grave. And then my new stepson tells me he’s sure his mother is still alive.

What does Noah remember, and why is his father trying to make him forget? Have I been completely wrong about my husband? What happened to the woman who came before me, and how far will he go to stop me finding out the truth?

An utterly gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

©2021 Jess Ryder (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Second Marriage

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely rubbish

I’m raging I actually used a credit on this book and now I can’t return it. I probably listened to 2 hours or less and it’s utter crap! The narrator has a terrible, mundane voice. The story is boring and predictable. Don’t waste ur time 🤦‍♀️

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First time I've had a book by this Author

It was a great listen, loved the plot and its twists and turns. Will definitely try another.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

kept me listening

Good characters, good storyline and good twists, didn't know what was going to happen next.

Definitely worth a credit

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

wonderful, real edge of the seat listen, tears and fears rolled in. couldn't put it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

a friend told me about this book and boy I am glad she did it was a fantastic listen did the whole book in a day the tension you could feel the narration was fantastic my only criticism would have been a slightly better ending but to say anything else would give it away . Going to find the next from this author

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic .

I absolutely loved this book from the second I started reading it. It kept me hooked and intrigued from start to finish. The narrator also has a wonderful voice, which we all know just makes the book that much more special.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable

A thoroughly enjoyable listen. Edge of the seat stuff. Didn't want it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story

This book is an amazing read never a dull pause it kept me enthralled all the way through.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helenm
  • Helenm
  • 06-11-21

Sorry that it is over

Great story. I put put the book on every moment I could. Karma definitely came for someone that deserved it.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessica D.
  • Jessica D.
  • 18-11-21

YES YES YES!!! Loved it!

Well well well, Lilly the main character really was charming and wonderful! I loved the twists and turns. I couldn't get enough! The narrator was AWESOME!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela O.
  • Angela O.
  • 17-11-21

Why so many good ratings?!

This was the least climactic book I have listened to in a long time. There was absolutely no mystery involved. You know what is happening the entire time almost. It is utterly boring. The narrator is not great either.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ariane M.
  • Ariane M.
  • 01-12-21

Mixed feelings

I was definitely hooked into the story and characters but the main character is dense and made me mad by most of her choices. Overall, not my favorite Jess Ryder novel but not terrible. I guess it was okay. I was half interested, half wanted to get it over with and move on with my life. The story was definitely not as thrilling as expected.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Bright
  • Susan Bright
  • 26-11-21

very good!couldn't stop listening !loved it.

finishihed it in a few listens .kept me wanting to hear mmore.and then the end
came to fast.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marianne Withington
  • Marianne Withington
  • 22-11-21

Good Read

Even though I pretty much figured out the plot of this book, I have to say it was an interesting read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hoppis Real Estate Services
  • Hoppis Real Estate Services
  • 22-03-22

very entertaining

I don’t know why anyone would give a negative review… this was enjoyable. The ending was slightly predictable but not the journey held my attention the entire time. The way it was told was comforting. Terrific voice performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ❤️LovemyAmazon❤️
  • ❤️LovemyAmazon❤️
  • 18-03-22

Very Good!

I really enjoyed this story. The narrator was excellent, storyline was interesting and kept me going.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth
  • Elizabeth
  • 06-07-22

New favorite author!

New to my list of favorite authors! Excellent story and narrator. Going to be reading more by her!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 04-07-22

Interesting

The story was captivating and kept your attention. Mystery throughout and kept you on your toes. I just feel that the end was rushed and fell flat. The sisters fate/outcome was rushed and I feel like I needed to know more about them. Teddy as well, I wish there was more to the ending between his and Lily’s relationship.