Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A heartwarming saga about surviving against the odds and finding a family, from top 10 best-selling author Lindsey Hutchinson.

In two run-down houses, at the side of a barren Black Country heath, live six children with no family but each other. Abandoned or orphaned, every day is a fight to find food and keep warm. But they are determined to stay free of the clutches of the workhouse and the horrors that would face them if they were ever torn apart. Dora Parsons lives with her mother, Mary, and her evil grandmother, Edith. Edith’s house may be comfortable and warm, and food is plentiful, but every day, Dora suffers at the hands of her spiteful gran.

Desperate to protect her child, Mary longs to run away, but she has no money to keep them alive and nowhere else to call home. When fate intervenes and Mary and Dora meet the children, events are set in train that will change all their lives forever. But will the friends find peace and comfort at last, or does the chill of the winter signal the most desperate ending of all?

The Queen of Black Country sagas is back with a heart-breaking, pause-resisting story of survival, friendship and what it means to be a family. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews.

©2022 Lindsey Hutchinson (P)2022 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Runaway Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is a 'must read/listenin'

What a stunning book/story by Lindsey Hutchinson. Hope, despair, courage, kindness and a heart warming story that everyone should take note of: Moral of the story, do not judge others who appear to not quite match what one thinks someone should look like, speak like and dress like. If only humanity acted like the characters in this book do with with generosity of spirit and kindness to all.This story is one you won't want to end and one you won't second guess various plots for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story

I just loved this story from start to finish, in fact I didn’t want it to end !! Very well written by Linsey Hutchinson and expertly narrated by Annie Aldington. A story full of hope, despair, sadness and everything in between. I could imagine all the characters as the story was so well described and accents of all the characters well produced. All in all an excellent book and one I would highly recommend adding to your library.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-08-22

What did delightful book

Life is hard, but life does work out sometimes. Love the characters and the relationships in this book.