Listen free for 30 days

  • The Perfect Girl

  • May Queen Killers, Book 1
  • By: Lorna Dounaeva
  • Narrated by: Lee Beddow
  • Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

She was beautiful, popular, and successful, the one they all wanted to be. So who, or what, was she running from? 

When reclusive writer Jock falls for vivacious tea shop owner, Sapphire, he is amazed that she seems to feel the same way about him. He watches with pride as Sapphire is crowned May Queen at the town's May Day celebrations, but his joy turns to heartbreak when she runs off into the crowd, never to return. 

As the days pass, he becomes increasingly desperate. Everyone he speaks to seems to love Sapphire. No one has a bad word to say about her. So why did she run away like that, and what is stopping her from coming back? 

The Perfect Girl is a claustrophobic British thriller set on the English/Welsh border. 

Ideal for fans of Paula Hawkins, Julia Crouch, Rachel Abbott and S.J Watson  

Get your copy now! 

This book was previously titled May Queen Killers.

©2015 Lorna Dounaeva (P)2020 Lorna Dounaeva

What listeners say about The Perfect Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

entertaining and different

I found the narration difficult to start but it warmed up and I really enjoyed this book. Different, funny and quite dark in places - a really good listen that hooked me in.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good story

this narrator is new for me... they did a good job with this story. i havent read this story so that was new also. i enjoyed the storyline and the writing.. the narrator hit the characters and their personalities on the head.. very good and i liked it a lot.

1 person found this helpful