Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £32.09

Buy Now for £32.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Journalist Emily Blake is sent back to her hometown to investigate the disappearance of a young girl called Becky Clarke. Emily takes the assignment willingly as the case echoes the disappearance of her childhood friend, Alice Abbott, 25 years earlier. 

Returning to the village, Emily renews old acquaintances and rivalries. She reconnects with her estranged brother Adam, who has never quite recovered from tragic events in their past. 

While she looks into the disappearance of Becky Clarke, Emily revisits Alice’s case but not everyone welcomes her investigation. As lies that have been told for 25 years surrounding Alice’s disappearance begin to unravel, Emily is drawn deeper into the mystery. What happened to Alice? Will Becky ever be found? And do the answers lie closer to home than anyone ever imagined? 

A twisty psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end, Damaged is an unmissable debut that will appeal to fans of authors like Mark Edwards, Cara Hunter, and Rachel Abbott.

©2020 Dan Scottow (P)2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC

More from the same

What listeners say about Damaged

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not at all good

The voice of the narrator fits the story all too well. Have a listen to the sample to hear what I mean. This is an awful piece of nonsense with no redeeming features. The icing on the cake has to be the climactic episode, involving an octogenarian beating the arch villain to a bloody pulp with his bare hands (and feet). All’s well that ends well, perhaps. Sounds like a good plan …. to paraphrase the closing lines.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

2 young girls are best pals and 1 goes missing. Years later 1 of the girls Emily now a journalist returns as another girl has gone missing, she wants to look deeper into her friend Alice’s disappearance.
This is a really good creepy story that kept me hooked right the way through. Lots to follow and easy to listen to.
Narrator was very good & kept me interested.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable, would recommend

A good read.. storyline was very graphic and really allows you to build up vivid picture of events as they unfold. Would recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't stop listening!!

This is one of those audible books that you just can't stop listening to . It's fast paced and full of twists. It's dark and twisted. I can't wait for Mr Scottow to bring out another book. 5 shiny stars from me ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐