Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Lost Storyteller cover art

The Lost Storyteller

By: Amanda Block
Narrated by: Matt Bates,Polly Edsell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Lost Storyteller is the heartwarming and evocative debut novel from a stunning new voice in fiction, Amanda Block. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Jessie Burton and Diane Setterfield.

Rebecca hasn't seen her father, Leo, since she was six. Her family never talk about him, and she has long since pushed him firmly to the back of her mind. All she knows is that once upon a time, he was a well-loved children's TV star.

But when a journalist turns up uninvited at her office, asking questions about her once-famous father, Rebecca starts to wonder whether there is more to Leo's absence than she realised. Then, looking for answers, she unearths a book of fairy tales written by Leo and dedicated to her - but what use are children's stories to her now, all these years later.

Tentatively, Rebecca tries to piece together her father's life, from the people he used to know and her own hazy memories. Yet her mind keeps returning to the magical, melancholic fairy tales, which seem to contain more truth than make-believe. Perhaps they are the key to unlocking the mystery of her father, the lost storyteller; to revealing who he was, what he went through - and even where he might be now....

The Lost Storyteller celebrates the magic of forgotten fairy tales and the power and resilience of imagination.

©2021 Amanda Block (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

More from the same

What listeners say about The Lost Storyteller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet and Haunting at once.

Loved this unique exploration of mental health and it's generational impact on families. Sensitive and careful. Fantasy and muddled reality spun together with a modern backdrop of London, Edinburgh and Dorset.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

it's just a really lovely story, fast paced and exciting! I loved every second of it

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really glad I downloaded

To start with, I doubted I could warm to the characters, however, the pace later picks up to bingeable levels. The story is unique, tragic and enlightening - I hadn’t anticipated that the story would be so thought-provoking!
Also loved Matt’s narration especially the final story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, magical story

I really loved this book, beautiful story, very heartwarming and magical. Just so wonderful!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story to lose yourself in

Magical, emotional and unique, 'The Lost Storyteller' follows Rebecca as she searches for clues to the whereabouts of her absent father, Leo Sampson.

The mystery of Leo is beautifully woven into a set of original fairytales and Rebecca has to wade through accounts of her father's life from those around here, as she searches for the truth amongst the fiction.

Block has expertly crafted an enthralling tale of fathers and daughters, magic, and the power of storytelling. Her words will transport you across the UK from Devon to Scotland, but also to far off places and forgotten memories. Truly a book to lose yourself in.

Amanda Block has shown herself a true talent with her debut novel, and will be one to watch out for on the literary scene. I can't wait to read what she writes next!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bradley
  • Bradley
  • 23-09-22

A Great Story

This was an amazing story about overcoming mental health issues in families. About bring families back together that were torn apart. About love and forgiveness. All through seven fairy tales and an adventure to find the truth.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hillary M. Slaughter
  • Hillary M. Slaughter
  • 23-06-22

Well written exploration of mental health

I first came across The Lost Storyteller by Amanda Block when I wandered into a bookstore in Cambridge. I loved the concept and wanted to see how the story played out. This book was unexpected in so many ways. It’s more general or women’s fiction than my typical read. The main character, Rebecca, comes across as standoffish at times, something that’s completely understandable given her history. As she embarks on a journey to find her father, Rebecca opens herself to parts of her past that she’s done her best to forget. I appreciated how this story was framed though a mix of fairytales and real life and the audiobook did a great job at bringing the different pieces to life. This book had some dark elements, something that fit with the fairytale vibe and the exploration of mental health that was a key component of this book. Overall, it was a well written story filled with the growth that comes only when characters recognize and embrace their full selves.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 05-09-21

Unique way to tackle a sensitive issue

I listened to the book over one and a half days. I couldn’t put it down.