Listen free for 30 days

  • The Lost Girl in Paris

  • By: Jina Bacarr
  • Narrated by: Laurel Lefkow
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

I will never forget what the Nazi did to me. Never.

1940, Nazi-occupied Paris. A powerful story of love, tragedy and incredible courage, about one woman whose life is ripped apart by war and risks everything to seek justice. Brand new from the best-selling author of The Resistance Girl.

As Nazis patrol the streets of the French capital, Tiena is alone, desperate and on the run. After defending herself against the force of an officer, she must find a new identity in order to survive.

An accidental meeting with members of the Resistance gives her a lifeline, as she is offered the chance to reinvent herself as perfumer Angéline De Cadieux.

However Angéline will never forget what happened to her and will do everything she can to seek revenge. But vengeance can be a dangerous game, and Angeline can only hide her true identity for so long before her past catches up with her, with some devastating consequences....

Paris, 2003. When the opportunity arises for aspiring journalist Emma Keane to interview world-renowned perfumer Madame De Cadieux about her life during World War Two, she is determined to take it. There are secrets from her own family history that she hopes Angéline may be able to help unlock.

But nothing can prepare Emma for Angéline's story and one thing is for certain - it will change her own life forever....

An absolutely heart-breaking, unforgettable historical novel of war, sacrifice and survival. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Goldring, Ella Carey and Catherine Hokin.

©2021 Jina Bacarr (P)2021 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Lost Girl in Paris

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don’t let this story pass you by.

Incredible. Unbelievably accurate in detail, surrounded by fictitious characters who grab your heart, and guide you through. Shows what courage can achieve.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unforgettable

It will break your heart. It will make you smile. It will make you think about how we treat others

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Underwhelmed

It was a relatively easy read Very predictable Lacked anything original Characters a bit bland Narration was fair

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

This book was excellent one of the best book I have listened to. A great story about a brave woman's life and her family. A must read.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 10-05-22

Please stay with it. It’s fascinating

I found the first 3o min of audio boring almost returned book to get credit back. So glad I didn’t . The story was so good and shocking I kept thinking what t I would have missed. I was not familiar with the nazis treatment of the Romani . I appreciate no gratuitous sex snd no profanity all ww2 fans will enjoy this Looking forward to ms Bacarr other books .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Henwhisperer
  • Henwhisperer
  • 02-10-22

Not too bad.

It’s an ok book about a Roma Gypsy who got tangled up in WWII in France. She had a nose for scents and because a perfumer. She was a spy also. When she got sent to a work camp she had her baby. The rest of the book has some surprises.

No foul language, no sex. The narrator did a decent job with a French accent.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 09-09-22

So So

I did enjoy Angeline's storyline, but I found both romances underwhelming. There were hardly any conversations where the relationships developed. I was not engaged/routing for them. Not that I wanted tons of romance, but a little realism of falling in love. Especially for Angeline/ Lance - they had maybe 3 conversations and poof! Love. (I know it's fiction, but really?!)

The romances aside - it was a very interesting story. Told from a Roma perspective.

The narrator - had NO voice changes between Angeline and Emma's narrations. She didn't seem to attempt to make Angeline sound old. I could only tell who was speaking based on the context, not the voices. (If you were only reading this would be a non-issue).

Overall, I'm glad I didn't purchase it, but borrowed from Kindle Unlimited / Audible Plus. I wouldn't re-read it. But to each his own.