Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Locked Attic cover art

The Locked Attic

By: B P Walter
Narrated by: Clare Corbett,Sam Newton
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

There’s something in my neighbour’s attic.

Something steeped in shadows. A secret to everyone. Seen by no one…

He stands sometimes at the window. Hidden in the corner of my eye.

I know he’s there. I know he’s watching.

Now my son is dead. My neighbour is not.

And I’m going to find out why.

From the author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Dinner Guest, comes THE up-all-night thriller of 2022. For fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell and T.M. Logan.

©2022 B P Walter (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Charged with darkness and plotted with watchmaker precision." (A. J. Finn)

"Such an achievement." (Susan Lewis)

"Compulsively readable." (Greg Buchanan)

What listeners say about The Locked Attic

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrated horribly - buy the book

I’m sorry the male narration here is really horrible to listen to. The women is very good. The teenage boy is painful. I would go as far as to say good writing ruined by narration. It’s like someone has told him to over act and to sound as much like a see-saw as possible. Teenagers do not speak like this. It’s just terrible.

It’s really not good. I would be very upset if I had written a very good book and this was how it was being read.

I can’t finish - but I will buy a copy and start from the beginning. I imagine it has a very good ending as the writer is one of my favourites.

A real shame and a total waste.
I am very disappointed as this was a pre order I had been waiting for,

If this was re-recorded I would snap it up but I can’t continue with this and I actually feel quite upset with the author for allowing this.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Two good plots

Two good ideas explored. But no greater depth on either. The title gives a false impression and you're left waiting about the attic throughout the whole book, only to be let down.
Liked the writing and suspense but left feeling slight disappointed. The explosion subplot left me wondering why it was even in there.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Strange book nothing happens but you are gripped

Weirdest book I’ve listened to , you are gripped constantly waiting for something to happen and it never does, the attic twist is pants, infact the whole book is rubbish and the ending omg the book just stops and your left thinking is that it , don’t bother in my opinion it’s a complete waste of time

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous book

i read this in one sitting. i really enjoyed it. there is humour and a dark feeling. well worth reading.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What just happened??

Listened to this book & was left feeling totally confused! Kept waiting for something to happen but it never did & im left questioning what the point actually was. I’ve promptly returned it in a disgruntled fashion